About the School of Actuarial Science & Risk Management

Located in the College of Business and Public Administration (CBPA), The School of Actuarial Science and Risk Management offers undergraduate majors in Actuarial Science, either alone or combined with another CBPA major; two undergraduate concentrations, one in Risk Management and Insurance and the other in Actuarial Science; and selected graduate classes in Risk Management. Our Actuarial Science program is 1 of 17 in the U.S. honored as a Center of Actuarial Science, a prestigious designation awarded by the Society of Actuaries.  Pass rates for our Actuarial Science majors regularly exceed national averages, an important consideration when choosing where to study Actuarial Science.

Our faculty include five with earned doctorates (Professors Bujakowski, Chen, Gardner, Vaughan and White), and four Actuarial Science faculty possess actuarial science credentials (Professors Judd, Vaughan, Watson, and White).

Many of our faculty members produce award-winning research, and some participate in local and national professional organizations important to their disciplines.

Administrative Leadership

Susan Watson, M.S., FSA
Assistant Professor and Sammons Group Director of the School of Actuarial Science and Risk Management.

Thank you for visiting our page. For more information about Actuarial Science, please contact us at actuarial.science@drake.edu.

October 24, 2017
Drake faculty of the College of Business and Public Administration awarded scholarships to five students to take the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) Level 1 exam in 2018.
October 17, 2017