About the School of Actuarial Science & Risk Management

Located in the College of Business and Public Administration (CBPA), The School of Actuarial Science and Risk Management offers undergraduate majors in Actuarial Science, either alone or combined with another CBPA major; two undergraduate concentrations, one in Risk Management and Insurance and the other in Actuarial Science; and selected graduate classes in Risk Management. Our Actuarial Science program is 1 of 16 in the U.S. honored as a Center of Actuarial Science, a prestigious designation awarded by the Society of Actuaries.  Pass rates for our Actuarial Science majors regularly exceed national averages, an important consideration when choosing where to study Actuarial Science.

Our faculty include six with earned doctorates (Professors Chen, Cooper, Gardner, Garza, Rehman, and White), and five of our six Actuarial Science faculty possess actuarial science credentials (Professors Garza, Judd, Rehman, Watson, and White).

Many of our faculty members produce award-winning research, and some participate in local and national professional organizations important to their disciplines.

Administrative Leadership

Lisa A. Gardner, Ph.D.
Professor, and Sammons Group Director of the School of Actuarial Science and Risk Management, and EMC Insurance Center Director

Susan Watson, FSA
Visiting Assistant Professor, and Interim Assistant Director of the School of Actuarial Science and Risk Management

Thank you for visiting our page. For more information about Actuarial Science, please contact us at actuarial.science@drake.edu. For more information about Risk Management, please contact us at risk.management@drake.edu.

September 22, 2017
Drake University hosted a special luncheon to announce and celebrate the winners of the 2017 John Pappajohn Iowa Entrepreneurial Venture Competition, which encourages and promotes entrepreneurial activity and create greater awareness of the resources available to entrepreneurs in Iowa.