Faculty

The Department of Art & Design includes ten full-time faculty; all hold the highest degrees in their fields and are practicing designers, artists, and scholars. In addition, several part-time and adjunct faculty regularly contribute to the breadth and volume of course offerings in the department.

Art History

Maura Lyons

Professor

282 Fine Arts Center
515-271-3858
maura.lyons@drake.edu
Lenore Metrick-Chen Associate Professor 283 Fine Arts Center
515-271-3801
lmetrickchen@drake.edu
Joshua Cox Director of Anderson Gallery Anderson Gallery
Fine Arts Center
515-271-1994
joshua.cox@drake.edu

Graphic Design

Catherine Dreiss Adjunct Instructor 281 Fine Arts Center
515-271-2491
catherine.dreiss@drake.edu 
John Fender Associate Professor 337 Fine Arts Center 
515-271-4508
john.fender@drake.edu 
Sarah McCoy Assistant Professor 345B Fine Arts Center
515-271-1968
sarah.mccoy@drake.edu
Neil Ward Assistant Professor 281 Fine Arts Center
515-271-3837
neil.ward@drake.edu 

Studio Art

Angela Battle Associate Professor 333 Fine Arts Center
515-271-3831
angela.battle@drake.edu 
Phillip Chen Professor 108 Studio Arts Hall 
515-271-3160
phillip.chen@drake.edu 
Robert Craig Professor 116 Studio Arts Hall 
515-271-3186
robert.craig@drake.edu 
Benjamin Gardner Associate Professor
Department Chair
338 Fine Arts Center
515-271-3166
benjamin.gardner@drake.edu 
Edward Kelley Studio Assistant
Instructor
105 Studio Arts Hall
515-271-3137
edward.kelley@drake.edu 
Emily Newman Assistant Professor
339 Fine Arts Center
515-271-3707
emily.newman@drake.edu 
Fine Arts Events
December 5, 2016
07:30 PM - 09:30 PM
December 6, 2016
12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
December 6, 2016
07:30 PM - 09:00 PM
Fine Arts News
November 21, 2016
Nicholas Roth, professor of piano at Drake University, will present the next concert in Drake’s Keys to Excellence Piano Series on Nov. 28.
×