National Advisory Council

The National Advisory Council (NAC) for the College of Arts and Sciences provides a way to engage alumni across the globe and broaden communication among the College, its alumni, and other friends.

The NAC meets twice each year, and provides counsel to the College regarding objectives, strategies, goals, problems, and opportunities; develops recommendations on the priority needs of the College as requested by the Dean; and assists with the recruitment of students and alumni and development efforts.

Current members

Michael Gould, Chair
Politics 1988
Manager of Insurance Development & Project Manager of Business Development

Iowa Economic Development Authority, Des Moines, IA

Johan Aerts
Biology 1999
Transplant Surgeon
Mercy Medical Center, Des Moines, IA

Patricia Rizzoli Aguglia
Speech Communications 1975
Associate Director, Leadership Development
University of Chicago Booth School of Business, Chicago, IL

Kristi Bowman
Political Science, Individualized Major 1998
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Law
Michigan State University College of Law, East Lansing, MI

Darren Fife
Environmental Science 2006
Barker Lemar Engineering, West Des Moines, IA

Danielle Foster-Smith
English 1997
Litigation Specialist
Ruan, Des Moines, IA

Jennifer Godinez
Sociology 1997
Associate Director
Minnesota Education Equity Partnership, St. Paul, MN

James Holsapple
Physics 1980
Chief, Department of Neurosurgery and Professor and Chairman of Neurosurgery
Boston University School of Medicine, Boston, MA 

Todd Janus
Chemistry, Biology 1977
Neurologist, Physician, Director of Unity Point Comprehensive Multiple Sclerosis Center
Unity Point Health, Des Moines, IA 

Mark Jarrett
Physics 1984
Six Sigma specialist in engineering - aerospace division
Honeywell, Minneapolis, MN

Sasha Muir Kamper
Mathematics 1991
Sr. Securities Analyst—Private Placements
Principal Global Investors, Des Moines, IA

William (Wil) Lewis II
Sociology 1996

Pete Lovell

Environmental Science, Biology 2002
Project Scientist/GIS Specialist
HR Green, Inc., Des Moines, IA 

Tami Byram Mahl
Political Science, Music 1986
Attorney, Davenport, IA

Julie Mulholland
Biology 1995
Westminster, CO

Robert Palmer
LPS 2010, JD 2014
Des Moines, IA

Cherie Richardson 
Speech Communication 1986
Senior Associate Director of Development, MEDILL
Northwestern University, Chicago, IL 

Joseph Piearson
Public Relations 2008
Community Resources Specialist,
Iowa Arts Council, Des Moines, IA
Friends of Drake Arts Chair

Student Members

Taylor Floyd 
A&S Student Senator

Maura Grace

Fine Arts Student Senator

Drake Staff

Keith Summerville
Interim Dean, College of Arts & Sciences 

Joanna Mosser
Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences

Doug Lampe
Major Gift Officer

A&S Events
May 1, 2016
12:00 PM - 04:00 PM
May 1, 2016
02:00 PM - 04:00 PM
May 1, 2016
07:30 PM - 09:00 PM
A&S News
April 29, 2016
When Brytani Cavil addresses Drake University’s graduating class of 2016 as the top graduating senior, she aims to inspire more than her fellow students. She hopes to set an example for her two-year-old twins.