Recognition Committee

Are you “Called to be True Blue” Do you know someone or an office that practices excellence, learning, integrity, citizenship and/or fiscal responsibility? 

The All-Staff Council Recognition Committee recognizes those who practice “Called to be True Blue” values. Anyone may nominate any staff person or department for practicing these values.  Winners will be announced throughout the year. At the conclusion of the academic year, each “Called to be True Blue” recipient will be recognized at the Sapphire Awards show.

Nominate a Drake University staff member or office who demonstrates “Called to be True Blue” values with:

  • Excellence
  • Learning
  • Integrity
  • Citizenship
  • Fiscal Responsibility

Take a minute to nominate that hard working colleague or office that you know is making a difference at Drake for you and the University.

To nominate someone, go to the All Staff Channel under the Employee tab in blueView and submit nomination electronically or go directly to the Nomination Form.

“Called to be True Blue” winners will be announced to the Drake University community and each winner will be eligible for the All-Staff Best in Show Awards at the Best in Show Party.

True Blue Award Winners

Congratulations to the most recent True Blue Award recipients, Jenny Tran-Johnson and Mary Beth Holtey in the Arts and Sciences Dean's Office.
According to their nominator, Mary Beth and Jenny have demonstrated consistent excellence in their work with faculty and students.

2013-2014 "Called to be True Blue" Award Winners

Winner Department Nominator
Carla McCrea School of Journalism and Mass Communications Kathleen Richardson
James Wu OIT Caron Findlay
James McNab OIT Joe Scavo & Bob Soltis
Beth Hudson College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Renae Chesnut
Renae Chesnut College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Wendy Duncan
Jenny Tran Johnson College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Sharyn O'Connor-Beener
Marilea Chase College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Raylene Rospond
Tom Heijerman OIT Caron Findlay

In previous years, the All-Staff Council Recognition Committee recognized staff with a SPOTlight Award for demonstrating Superior Performance and Outstanding Talent with

  • Excellence
  • Creativity
  • Learning
  • Community Involvement
  • Integrity
  • Fiscal Responsibility

2010-2011 SPOTlight Award Winners

Winner Department Nominator
Marc Davis Cowles Library Susan Fink and Rod Henshaw
Jody Stagner Law School Lori Richman
Heather Storms Law Library Sara Lowe
Rondolyn (Ronnie) Hawkins Legal Clinic Mara Deaton

2009-2010 SPOTlight Award Winners

Winner Department Nominator
Sam Sinram Office of Information Technology Venessa Macro &
Gary Johnson
Donna Knight-Donovan Student Accounts Robert Harlan &
Office of Student Accounts
Mary Middleton* Head Start Cristina Toledo
Andrea McDonough Marketing & Communications Calee Himes
Margaret Corkrean College of Arts & Sciences Sofia Turnbull
Jeremy Sievers Marketing & Communications Linda Ryan &
Sue Bach
Brian Gabel Athletics Joe Quinn
Sonja Brightwell Residence Life Pamyla Stewart
*Best in Show Award Recipient

2008-2009 SPOTlight Award Winners

Month Winner Department Nominator
January Suzanne Brown* Office of the Provost Sandi Smeltzer
February Margaret Crawford College of Arts & Sciences Howard Rescot
March Kris Rossmiller Environmental Health & Safety Bob Soltis
April Pam Smith Student Financial Planning Brandi Stone-Miller
*Best in Show Award recipient

2010-2011 Best Ensemble

Jana Peterson Johanna M Determann

2009-2010 Best Ensemble

It could be argued that Drake’s dedication to its students begins at orientation.

Like a fine-tuned orchestra, countless individuals from almost every corner of the university came together last summer to conduct five remarkable orientation sessions. Under the leadership of the individuals listed below, and with notable contributions from the others who put forth their hard work last summer, Drake demonstrated its commitment to providing an exceptional learning environment for its students. The acclaimed performance by these individuals left a strong impression not only on the students, but also on the Drake University staff. Therefore, the All Staff Council would like to recognize these individuals as the “Best Ensemble” for their dedication to achieving a memorable orientation experience last summer. Bravo!

Tom Brown Jim O'Brien
Wanda Everage Tasha Stiger
Jessica Lang Melissa Sturm-Smith
Lorissa Lieurance Carrie Walters
Randy McMullin