Board of Trustees

University Governance

Drake University governance includes a Faculty Senate and Student Senate. The Faculty Senate has 21 voting members elected from and by the faculty of instruction: 12 elected at large, one from each of the four divisions of the College of Arts and Sciences, and one each from the College of Business and Public Administration, School of Journalism and Mass Communication, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, School of Education and the Law School. The president of the University and the provost sit as nonvoting members.

Student Senate

The Drake University Student Senate is elected by the members of the student body, which has 25 voting members: 3 executive officers, elected at large: the Student Body President, who serves as chair; the Vice President of Student Life; and the Vice President of Student Activities; 6 Academic Senators elected by each college, except for the College of Arts and Sciences, which has a Fine Arts Senator and a Liberal Arts Senator elected by their respective constituencies, and the Law School, which has a nonvoting representative serving as a diplomat; 3 organizational Senators elected from and by the Organizational Council, 3 Diversity Interest Senators elected from and by the Diversity Interest Convention,  9 Senators-at-Large, elected at large, and 1 First-Year, elected by First-Years.

The Student Senate acts as ombudsman on behalf of the student body; assures adherence to University policy, procedures and rules; and makes recommendations regarding policies or other student concerns to appropriate University committees or administrative officers.

[ back ]

Today at Drake
University News
February 22, 2018
The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) has publicly reaffirmed accreditation of Drake University for an additional 10 years.