Calendar

Except for the Law School, which follows its own calendar structure, Drake University's academic year is comprised of a summer term, a 15-week (excluding final evaluations) fall semester, a three-week January term, and a 15-week (excluding final evaluations) spring semester.

Official Academic Calendar for 2016-2017:

Summer 2016

  • May 16 (Mon.)
    Summer term begins
  • May 30 (Mon.)
    Memorial Day (classes do not meet)
  • Jul 4 (Mon.)
    Independence Day (classes do not meet)
  • Aug 21 (Sun.)
    Summer term ends

Fall 2016 (Non Law School)

  • Aug. 29 (Mon.)
    Fall term begins
  • Sept. 2 (Fri.)
    Last day to add a class
  • Sept. 5 (Mon.)
    Labor Day (classes do not meet)
  • Sept. 12 (Mon.)
    Last day to drop a class without a “W”
  • Sept. 23-25 (Fri.-Sun.)
    Parent/Family Weekend
  • Sept. 23-25 (Fri.-Sun.)
    Homecoming Weekend
  • Oct. 12 (Wed.)
    Mandatory fire drill
  • Oct. 17-18 (Mon.-Tues.)
    Fall break
  • Oct. 19 (Wed.)
    Midpoint of semester
  • Oct. 26 (Wed.)
    Last day to drop a Fall 2016 class without extenuating circumstances
  • Nov. 22 (Tues.)
    Thanksgiving recess begins after evening classes
  • Nov. 28 (Mon.)
    Classes resume
  • Dec. 9 (Fri.)
    Day free for study
  • Dec. 12-16 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Final evaluation period
  • Dec. 16 (Fri.)
    Fall term ends
  • Dec. 17 (Sat.)
    Commencement

J-Term 2017

  • Jan. 3 (Tue.)
    Beginning of J-term
  • Jan. 16 (Mon.)
    Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (classes do not meet)
  • Jan. 20 (Fri.)
    End of J-term

Spring 2017 (Non Law School)

  • Jan. 23 (Mon.)
    Spring term begins
  • Jan. 27 (Fri.)
    Last day to add a class
  • Feb. 3 (Fri.)
    Last day to drop a class without a “W”
  • Mar. 10 (Fri.)
    Midpoint of semester
  • Mar. 13-17 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Spring break
  • TBD (Fri.)
    Last day to drop a Spring 2017 class without extenuating circumstances
  • Apr. 27-29 (Thurs. - Sat.)
    Drake Relays
  • Apr. 28 (Fri.)
    Undergraduate classes dismissed at 1:50pm
  • May 5 (Fri.)
    Day free for study
  • May 8-12 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Final evaluation period
  • May 12 (Fri.)
    Spring term ends
  • May 13 (Sat.)
    Commencement

This is the official Academic Calendar for Drake University.  It is updated and maintained by the Office of Student Records.


2016-2017 Drake University Graduate and Professional Programs Catalog

Today at Drake
no events have been scheduled
University News
February 24, 2018
Bulldog Brass brings the noise for Drake Basketball, and Vince Kenney is there to lead them. "You’re almost a DJ for the whole event," he says. "You’re calling up the right tune at the right time."
×