Skip Sub Menu

Information Sessions and Program Calendar


 2018-2019 Information Sessions

Wednesday, January 31, 2018

  • 4:00 - 5:00 PM in Meredith 103

Thursday, February 1, 2018

  • 4:00 - 5:00 PM in Meredith 103
  • 7:30 - 8:30 PM in Meredith 103

Tuesday, February 20, 2018

  • 4:00 - 5:00 PM in the Pomerantz Conference Room (in Olmsted)
  • 7:30 - 8:30 PM in the Pomerantz Conference Room (in Olmsted)

Wednesday, February 21, 2018

  • 4:00 - 5:00 PM in the Pomerantz Conference Room (in Olmsted)

2018-2019 Teach in China Program Calendar

During the end of 2017 and the start of 2018, Teach in China staff will begin doing outreach and promotion on Drake University's campus.  Additionally, special information sessions are held to support recruitment.

February 2018

  • Thursday, February 1: Application Made Available

March 2018

  • Thursday, March 1: Application Deadline
  • Week of March 5: Applicant Interviews with Program Staff
  • Friday, March 9: Program Admission Decisions Announced
  • Friday, March 23: Initial Deposit Deadline

April 2018

  • Week of April: TEFL Training begins online (10 hours). Please see the complete TEFL Training Calendar
  • Friday, April 13 - Sunday, April 15: Full weekend of TEFL training (20 hours)
  • Week of April 16: Online TEFL training (10 hours)
  • Mid-April: Placement Decisions are Announced
  • Monday, April 30: Registration Deadline for Teach in China Training (CRN 2283); Remainder of Program Fee Due


May 2018

  • Friday, May 4 - Sunday, May 6: Full weekend of TEFL training (20 hours).
  • Week of May 21: Morning TEFL practicums and evening training sessions (40 hours).
  • Week of May 28: Evening TEFL sessions (20 hours).


July 2018

  • Late July: Participants Receive Invitation Letters from Chinese Institution; Apply for Visa with Chinese Consulate



August 2018

  • Thursday, August 23: Participants Meet in Guilin to begin in-country orientation
  • Tuesday, August 28: Participants Depart Training Site for Placement City


September 2018

  • First Week of September: Fall Semester Begins at Placement Institutions

July 2019

  • Sunday, July 15: End of Teaching Contract. School Year Finishes
University Events
April 26, 2018
07:30 PM - 08:30 PM
April 27, 2018
University News
April 24, 2018
Global climate change has been called the single most significant threat to human existence. Drake senior Marie Dolleman found a way to make it hauntingly beautiful.