Hertko Hollow Founder Selected as Finalist for the Iowa Star Award

We congratulate Dr. Edward Hertko, founder of Camp Hertko Hollow, on being selected as a finalist for The Des Moines Register’s Iowa Star Award. Dr. Herko was selected from a field of many nominations by a panel of independent judges.  The winner will be announced at a reception beginning at 5:30 p.m. on Wednesday, February 11, 2009 at the Temple for Performing Arts.

The purpose of The Des Moines Register’s Iowa Star Award is to honor an individual who:

  • Works to promote unity, self-empowerment and self-sufficiency for all within our community, without regard to race, gender or age.
  • Volunteers time and talent, without regard to position.
  • Works selflessly and goes beyond the recipient’s job description and normal endeavor.
  • Makes a measurable difference within the community.

The winner will receive a Steuben “Star Stream” crystal sculpture.  All finalists will be featured in The Des Moines Register in advance of the reception.

Best of luck to Dr. Hertko!



CPHS Upcoming Events
White Coat Ceremony
Friday, August 22 @ 4:00 p.m.
[Sheslow Auditorium]
August 28, 2014
Laura Vollmer, 2015 Pharm.D. candidate at Drake University, is the winner of the Parata-Pharmacy Times Next Generation Future Pharmacist Award, as announced during the awards ceremony held in Boston on August 24, 2014.
August 14, 2014