Drake Pharmacy Grad Receives Karbeling Award For Leadership, Professionalism



June 2, 2011

CONTACT: Brianne Sanchez, 515-271-1834, 

Drake University graduate Andrew Roberts recently received Drake's fifth Karbeling Memorial Leadership Award in recognition of his leadership and outstanding contributions to the University and the pharmacy profession.

The annual award is given to recognize a pharmacy student who has shown leadership in professional education, association work, community service and pharmacy practice. It was created in memory of Jerry Karbeling, a 1974 Drake pharmacy graduate and an outstanding alumnus who died in 2005.

 “I was truly honored to receive the Karbeling Memorial Leadership Award,” said Roberts, who is from St. Joseph, Mo. “It is an unbelievable source of encouragement to be associated with Mr. Karbeling's legacy of dedication to advancing the profession of pharmacy.”

The award was presented at Drake's May 13 College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Hooding Ceremony, recognizing students graduating with a Doctor of Pharmacy degree. 

“It's very clear to me that the opportunities I had during pharmacy school wouldn't have been possible anywhere but Drake,” Roberts said. “We have a very progressive academic environment that encourages innovation and leadership. Plus, I have been able to tap into a very far-reaching network of influential alumni that are eager to collaborate with Drake pharmacy students.” 

Roberts will begin work on his PhD this fall at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

“I plan to study the safety and efficacy of medications in large populations of patients and leverage this information into forming more effective and equitable health policies,” Roberts said.

Karbeling: Longtime leader and advocate for pharmacy at Drake   

Karbeling was the owner of Big Creek Pharmacy in Polk City, Iowa, and senior vice president for public affairs and corporate development for the Iowa Pharmacists Association. He was a member of Kappa Psi, a professional leader, community advocate and strong supporter of Drake's pharmacy program. 

The class of 1974 established the Karbeling Memorial Leadership Fund, which supports the annual award for a student who demonstrates Karbeling's values and actions including professional involvement, commitment to practice and political advocacy. 

Candidates for the Karbeling Leadership Award are full-time Doctor of Pharmacy students in their fourth year of the Professional Pharmacy Program enrolled in the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences at Drake. 

July 17, 2015
Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences Assistant Dean for Clinical Affairs and Director of Experiential Education Cheryl Clarke, PH’86, was recently selected as a Fellow of the American Pharmacists Association (APhA)
June 30, 2015