Granberg Award

C. Boyd Granberg Professional Leadership Award Recipient

The first C. Boyd Granberg Professional Leadership Award was presented during the 2009 Pharmacy and Health Sciences Day. 

The award recognizes and celebrates the contributions of faculty members who demonstrate sustained and significant leadership in professional organizations, and inspire students toward professional involvement. This annual award recognizes one faculty member for his or her service to professional organizations.

The main purpose of the award is to foster ongoing personal and professional development of pharmacy faculty, recognize leadership role models and encourage involvement by students in professional organizations. 

The recipient of the C. Boyd Granberg Professional Leadership Award provides a lecture to student participants of the college’s Student Leadership Series.For information on the award criteria and nomination process, or to contribute to the Granberg Professional Leadership Fund, contact Jackie Howard, major gift officer for the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, at 515-271-4050 or

C. Boyd Granberg
Dean Granberg's Reflection on the Award

Spring 2014:
Charles Phillips
2014 News Article
Spring 2013:
Carrie Koenigsfeld
2013 News Article
Spring 2012:
Geoff Wall
2012 News Article
Charles Phillips Granberg Award
Spring 2011:
Denise Soltis
2011 News Article
Spring 2010:
Renae Chesnut

2010 News Article
Spring 2009:
Robert Soltis

2009 News Article
CPHS Upcoming Events
Doctor of Pharmacy Hooding Ceremony
Saturday, May 17 @ 4 p.m.
[Knapp Center]
Undergraduate Commencement [B.S., Health Sciences]
Sunday, May 18 @ 10 a.m.
[Knapp Center]
Graduate and Doctoral Commencement [PharmD]
Sunday, May 18 @ 2:00 p.m.
[Knapp Center]
April 21, 2014
John Forbes, PH’80, owner and manager of Medicap Pharmacy in Urbandale, was selected to receive the 2014 Lawrence C. and Delores M. Weaver Medal of Honor, the highest honor given by Drake University’s College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (CPHS). As part of this honor, he will deliver the 2014 Weaver Medal of Honor Lecture on Wednesday, April 23.