Drake’s economics faculty are well-rounded and committed to your learning. Each faculty member brings a combination of academic and professional experiences to the classroom to enrich your learning opportunities. Faculty frequently conduct research alongside undergraduate students and provide guidance and mentorship in an environment conducive to establishing strong faculty-student relationships.

Faculty Roster

Dale A. Berry, Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Indiana University 
Telephone 278-4475, dale.berry@drake.edu.
William M. Boal, Professor 
Ph.D., Stanford University 
Telephone 271-3129, william.boal@drake.eduweb page
Teaching interests: microeconomic theory, econometrics, labor economics, industrial organization.
Heath Henderson, Assistant Professor 
Ph.D., American University 
Telephone 271-2898, heath.henderson@drake.eduweb page
Teaching interests: development economics, econometrics, international economics, macroeconomics, and microeconomics.
Roger S. Hewett, Associate Professor Emeritus 
Ph.D., University of Illinois 
Ismael Hossein-Zadeh, Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., New School for Social Research 
ismael.zadeh@drake.eduweb page.
Wayne Newkirk, Professor Emeritus 
Ph.D., Lousiana State University; JD, Drake University 
Telephone 221-3124, wnmb@mchsi.com.
Sean Severe, Assistant Professor 
Ph.D., University of Oregon 
Telephone 271-4026, sean.severe@drake.eduweb page
Teaching interests: macroeconomics, monetary economics, econometrics.
Brian Vander Naald, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Oregon 
Teaching interests: public economics, environmental economics.
[Photo not
Janice E. Weaver, Associate Professor Emerita
Ph.D., University of Illinois 
Liping Zheng, Associate Professor 
Ph.D., University of New Hampshire 
Telephone 271-4160, liping.zheng@drake.eduweb page
Teaching interests: macroeconomics, monetary economics, international economics, Chinese economy.
October 19, 2016
The Principal Financial Group Center for Global Citizenship will host a free lecture this month titled “Getting Ahead with Almost Nothing: What Immigrant Communities Can Teach Us About Achieving the American Dream.”