Skip Sub Menu


At Drake, we offer financial aid that is designed to reward your academic achievement and also to help meet your family’s level of financial need. You may find that you qualify for both merit-based and financial need-based awards. We make every effort to provide the most complete financial aid package to you in your first award notice.

Please visit our Office of Student Financial Planning for all your general scholarship inquiries.

The following additional scholarships are available specifically for economics students:


The Professor Edward Alley Scholarship

The Alley Scholarship is presented annually to a Drake economics major who has a grade point average of 3.0 or higher and who has completed the sophomore year. Recipients normally receive the scholarship for both their junior and senior years provided they meet all qualifications. Winners are chosen by the Office of Student Financial Planning in September or October. Recent winners are shown below.

1995-1996 - Robin Hampe and Ann Stockman
1996-1997 - Robin Hampe and Ann Stockman
1997-1998 - Stuart Hyatt and John Maroney
1998-1999 - John Maroney and Alissa Rohlman
1999-2000 - John Maroney and Alissa Rohlman
2000-2001 - John Maroney and Alexander Bujak
2001-2002 - Alexander Bujak
2002-2003 - Karey Anderson
2003-2004 - Amanda Marshall
2004-2005 - Kathleen Boggs
2005-2006 - Justin Funck
2006-2007 - Justin Funck
2007-2008 - Matthew Courtney
2008-2009 - Matthew Courtney
2009-2010 - Oluwole Aluko-Olokun
2010-2011 - Oluwole Aluko-Olokun
2011-2012 - Hannah Shell
2012-2013 - Hannah Shell
2013-2014 - Muhamad Iqbal Mohd-Rafi
2014-2015 - Muhamad Iqbal Mohd-Rafi

The Herbert W. and Edna M. Bohlman Award

The income from the Bohlman Award Fund is divided between two students each year: one enrolled in the CBPA and the other a major in economics. The economics winner, normally a junior, is chosen by the economics faculty in March. The winner then enjoys scholarship support for the following (senior) academic year. Both awards are presented at the annual CBPA awards convocation. Recent economics winners are shown below.

1995 - Tobin Bengfort
1996 - Neal Young
1997 - Tamara Rollins
1998 - Anna Stende
1999 - Benjamin Bergeson
2000 - Sara Dent
2001 - Afua Oppong
2002 - Evan Vasiliades
2003 - Laura Orth
2004 - Jayna Anderson
2005 - Jason Boothe
2006 - Ali Kalawadh
2007 - Andrew Weerts
2008 - Liza Azu
2009 - Ryan Kessler
2010 - Kenneth Jackson
2011 - Kjersten Krantz-Odendahl
2012 - Ian Sanders
2013 - Wei-Quan Soh
2014 - Kathleen Knox
2015 - Ju Li Chow
2016 - Brenna Cox
2017 - Kasey Clary

December 7, 2017
Drake University will hold a commencement ceremony this month to celebrate the accomplishments of 325 undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral students who completed their degree requirements as of the conclusion fall 2017 semester.