Scholarships by Locale


Scholarships Main Page

Alpha Delta Kappa

Des Moines Women's Club

Fahrney Education Foundation Scholarship (Wapello County Iowa)

Grundy County Memorial Hospital Foundation

Iowa College Foundation the Westmar Endowment Scholarship Program

Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago's Academic Scholarship

Lavone Cooper Scholarship

Press Club of St. Louis & Journalism Foundation Scholarships


 Alpha Delta Kappa

Des Moines Women’s Club
Deadline:  January (Annually)
Award:  There are four (4) different types of scholarships from education to fine arts, health, and other academic fields (see web site for details).

Eligibility: Applicant may apply for ONLY ONE of the four scholarships. Applicant must be a woman beyond the secondary school level, who is currently enrolled as a full-time student in an accredited college or university. Applicant must be a legal resident of Polk County or one of the bordering countries of Boone, Dallas, Jasper, Madison, Marion, Story, or Warren.

Apply: Applications can be downloaded off the following website:
Contact: Phone:  (515) 244-0507, Email:

Top of page 

Fahrney Education Foundation Scholarship
Deadline:  February (annually)
Award:  $2,500

Eligibility: Applicant must be a resident of Wapello County, Iowa and a full time student at an accredited Iowa college or university.

Apply: Applications can be picked up in the Office of Student Financial Planning located in Carnegie Hall.

Top of page

Grundy County Memorial Hospital Foundation
Deadline:  May (annually)
Award:  $1,000

Eligibility: Student must be currently enrolled in an accredited healthcare program leading to licensure or a clinical laboratory degree such as pharmacy. Student must have completed at least six months of their healthcare program. Students must be enrolled full-time (minimum 12 credit hours) for diploma or undergraduate programs and at least part-time (minimum 6 credit hours) for graduate programs. Eligible student reside in or have graduated from the Grundy County Memorial Hospital service area of Black Hawk, Butler, Grundy, Hardin and Tama counties. Cumulative post-secondary GPA maintained at 2.5 or higher.

Apply: visit
Contact: Grundy County Memorial Hospital Foundation Scholarship, c/o Rebecca Dirks, 201 East J Avenue, Grundy Center, IA 50638.  Sarah Bruner or Becky Dirks Phone: (319) 824-5421

Top of page 

Iowa College Foundation the Westmar Endowment Scholarship Program
Deadline:  April (annually)
Award:  Awards Range from $500 to $5,000

Eligibility:Notwithstanding the following criteria, the Iowa College Foundation Selection Committee will select the best qualified students according to academic merit, commitment to community service, and leadership qualities.

  • First consideration- students who are currently residents of Northwest Iowa and have a Westmar connection such as alumni, former staff and former faculty of Westmar as well as their children and grandchildren. (Northwest Iowa is defined as Plymouth, Cherokee, Ida, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola, Sioux and Woodbury Counties)

  • Second consideration- students who are residents of LeMars, Iowa.

  • Third consideration- applicants with Westmar connections such as alumni, former staff and former faculty of Westmar as well as their children and grandchildren.

Applicant may be a freshman, sophomore, junior or senior beginning in the Fall of 2012, and must plan to attend one of ICF’s member colleges or universities (or a satellite campus of an ICF institution) as a full-time student. Courses must be taken on the campus of the institution.Applicant must have a minimum 3.0 grade point average to qualify for the “Presidential” award and at least a 2.5 grade point average for the remaining awards

Apply: Go to, click on 'For Students', then click on 'Westmar Endowment Scholarship Application', which takes you directly to the application. If you want to read about the program first, click on 'Endowment Scholarship Programs' (under the 'For Students' tab) and scroll down to the Westmar Endowment Scholarship.
Contact: Sandi Smith, Director of Administration and Scholarships, Iowa College Foundation Ph: 515-282-0473

Top of page


Jewish Federation of Metropolitan Chicago's Academic Scholarship
Deadline: February (annually)
Award:  Varies

The primary criteria for an award are career promise and financial need. Please review the following eligibility requirements before proceeding to the application instructions and forms.

  • Applicants must be Jewish
  • Applicants must meet one or both of the following criteria:
    1. Born and/or raised in either:
      Cook County, Chicago metropolitan area, or Northwest Indiana


  1. One continuous year of full-time employment in Cook County or Chicago metropolitan area prior to starting professional education.

PLEASE NOTE: The Chicago metropolitan area includes Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry and Will Counties. Northwest Indiana includes Lake County.

    • Applicants must intend to remain in the Chicago metropolitan area after completing school
    • Applicants must be entering an accredited professional graduate education program on a full-time basis (school acceptance is not required at time of scholarship application)
    • Undergraduate applicants must be entering the junior or senior year of an accredited professional education program that will allow them to pursue employment in their chosen helping professions at a Bachelor's degree level
    • Applicants must demonstrate career promise in a helping profession such as


doctor   physician's assistant
dentist   nurse
pharmacist   chiropractor
veterinarian   dental hygienist
physical therapist   occupational therapist
optometrist   audiologist
speech therapist geneticist researcher
Teacher   journalist
Jewish studies    
  Jewish Communal Service  
  The Rabbinate  
rabbi   cantor
  Social Service  
social worker   psychologist
therapist/counselor   gerontologist
  Performing and Fine Arts  
musician   artist
actor/actress   photographer
sculptor playwright poet
  Healthcare / Public Health  
  Urban Affairs/Public Policy  
mathematician   chemist
biochemist   computer scientist
other sciences   engineer
biomedical engineer architect environmental engineer
    • Communications at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign only
    • Other (please check with JVS at (312) 673-3444 to verify "helping profession" eligibility before completing application)
  • Applicants must be available for a personal interview at Jewish Vocational Service between March 1 and April 20, 2012.

Contact: Jennifer Krapfl, LPC Career Counselor, Scholarship Program Manager, Jewish Vocational Service 216 W. Jackson Blvd, Suite 700 Chicago, Il 60606 Phone: 312-673-3434

Top of Page 

Lavone Cooper Scholarship
Deadline: See website for specifics
Award:  $300-$1,000

Eligibility: This scholarship is for graduates of Robbinsdale District 281, Robbinsdale, MN. Funds for the scholarship are raised through our annual craft fair. Students must have completed at least two years of post high school education and have a GPA of 3.0 or better. (The district includes the cities of Robbinsdale, New Hope, Plymouth, Brooklyn Park, Crystal, Golden Valley, and Brooklyn Center all in Minnesota.)

Contact: Deb Mans, New Hope Women of Today (612) 723-1970 email:

Top of Page 

Press Club of Metropolitan St. Louis & Journalism Foundation Scholarship
Deadline: Annually
Award:  Varies, several scholarships available


  • Must be a resident of the St. Louis metropolitan area
  • Must be enrolled for the 2012 fall term in journalism, communications, or writing courses
  • Must be completing your freshman year in college. Graduate students and students graduating before August in the above curriculum also can be eligible to apply for some of the scholarships.

Contact:Glenda Partlow, Executive Director Press Club of Metropolitan St. Louis P.O. Box 410522 St. Louis, MO 63141 PH: 636-230-1973 Email:

Top of Page