Friends of Drake Arts

Skip Sub Menu

Art Exhibitions

Fri., Jan. 19- Sun., Feb. 25
Paper is Part of the Picture 
Curated by Drake University's Sarah McCoy, the exhibition explores the different substrates, approaches, materiality and meaning revealed through artist' interactions on and with paper. 
     Opening Reception: Feb., 2 from 5:00-7:00 p.m.
 

Sun., Mar. 25 - Sun., Apr. 22
47th Annual Juried Student Art Exhibitions
An exhibition presented by Drake Student Artists. 
      Opening Reception: Sun., Mar. 25 from 1-3pm

Anderson Gallery Information

Hours:

Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday: 12:00-4:00 p.m.
Thursday: 12:00-8:00 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: 12:00-4:00 p.m.

The Gallery is closed on Mondays.

All exhibitions are free and open to the public


Musical Performances


Mon., Jan 29 
   Guest Recital: Roustem Saitkoulov, piano, on the Yamaha CFX concert grand; 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium; part of the Keys to Excellence Piano Concert Series sponsored by Yamaha, West Music, Civic Music Association, and Drake University. 

Fri., Feb. 2           Faculty and Student Recital, 2 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Fri., Feb. 2           Honors Recital, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sat., Feb 3         Bulldog Horn Day recital, 4:30pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sat., Feb. 3          Senior Recital, Hudson Webber, cello, 7:30pm Sheslow Auditorium

Sun., Feb. 4         Masterclass, Asaf Zohar, piano, 4pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Tues., Feb. 6       Drake University Jazz Honor Band, featuring the Drake Jazz Ensemble I, 7 p.m., Performing Arts Hall. General admission charged, student tickets free.
Wed., Feb 7      Guest Recital: Asaf Zohar, piano, on the Yamaha CFX concert grand; 7:30pm., Sheslow Auditorium; part of the Keys to Excellence Piano Concert Series sponsored by Yamaha, West Music, Civic Music Association, and Drake University. 

Fri., Feb. 9          Voice recital, Elizabeth Fisher, soprano, 7:30pm., Sheslow Auditorium\

Sat., Feb. 10   Junior Recital, Kaleb Schultz, trumpet, 1:30pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Wed., Feb. 14     Turner Center Jazz Orchestra presents: Music for Lovers and Friends, featuring Rose Colella, 7 p.m. and 9 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center. General admission charged, student tickets free.

Fri., Feb. 16        Faculty and Student Recital, 2 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sat., Feb 17         Jazz One Benfit Concert, 7:30pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center,
                            admissions charged, follow link for more information                                                             China Boud! Jazz 1 Benefit concert
Sat., Feb 17       Senior Recital, Kellen Schrimper, Bass-Baritone, 7:30pm, Sheslow

Sat., Feb. 24      Senior Recital, Rachael Demaree, soprano, 1:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sat., Feb 24      Guest Recital, Woodwinds, Sheslow, 4:30pm

Sun., Feb. 25     Drake Chorale Concert, Linda Vanderpool, conductor, 3 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Mon., Feb. 26   Alumni Recital, Dana Sloter, clarinet, 7:30pm. Sheslow Auditorium

Wed., Feb. 28    Voice Master Class, Gordon Ostrowski, Manhattan School of Music, 3pm, Performing Arts Hall

Thurs., Mar 1   The Business of Singing, Gordon Ostrowski, Manhattan School of Music, 2pm, FAC 204

Thurs., Mar. 1   Patty’s Place Jazz Series presents Nate Sparks, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center. General admission charged student tickets free.

Fri., Mar 2         Voice Master Class/Auditioning, Gordon Ostrowski, Manhattan School of Music, 1pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Sat., Mar. 3       Guest recital, TBA, 7:30pm, Sheslow

Sun., Mar. 4      Drake Wind Symphony Concert, Robert Meunier, conductor, 1:30 p.m., Performing Arts Hall

Tues., Mar. 6      Drake Choir/Chamber Choir Pre-tour Concert, Aimee Beckmann-Collier, conductor, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Wed., Mar. 7      Drake Symphonic Band Concert, Vincent Kenney, conductor, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sat., Mar. 10      Des Moines Gay Men’s Chorus, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium. Admission charged.

Sat., Mar 10       Guest Artist, TBA, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sun., Mar 11      Guest Artist, TBA, Sheslow

Tues., Mar. 20    Drake Jazz Ensemble I, featuring the Norwalk High School Jazz Band, 7 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Thurs., Mar. 21   Drake Student Composers Recital, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Thurs., Mar. 22  Turner Center Jazz Orchestra presents Jazz in the Fight for Civil Rights, featuring Damani Phillips, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center. General admission charged, student tickets free.

Fri., Mar. 23      Senior Recital, Kaylee Johnson, flute, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Sat., Mar. 24     Guest Recital, Jesse Orth, low brass, 4pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Sat., Mar. 24     Senior Recital, Caitlin Carr, mezzo-soprano, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Sun., Mar 25       Guitar Masterclass with Gohar Vardanyan, 10:30am, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sun., Mar. 25    Sigma Alpha Iota, Pi Chapter, recital, 1:30pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sun., Mar. 25     Masterclass, Mei-Hsuan Huang, piano, 2 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Mon., Mar. 26    Keys To Excellence Series presents: Mei-Hsuan Huang, piano, Academy of Music in Ljubljana, Slovenia, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium. This concert is part of the Keys to Excellence Piano Series, created to raise awareness of Drake’s fundraising efforts for the purchase of 70 brand new Yamaha pianos for the music department. Keys to Excellence features internationally acclaimed artists performing on the magnificent Yamaha CFX concert grand. Sponsored by Yamaha, West Music, Civic Music Association, and Drake University. For more information, contact Nicholas Roth at (515) 321-5947 or nicholas.roth@drake.edu.

Wed., Mar. 28 Combo night, 7pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Wed., Mar. 28  Guest Recital, Penelope Shumate, voice, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Thus., Mar. 29   Drake Student Composers Recital, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Fri., Mar. 30     Senior Recital, Paxton Gillespie, voice, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Sat., Mar 31     Senior Recital, Ian Estrem, clarinet, 4:30pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sat., Mar. 31    Drake Symphony Orchestra Concert, Akira Mori, conductor, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Thurs., April 5   Seth Hammond, senior recital, tenor, 7:30 p.m. Sheslow Auditorium

Fri., April 6         Junior Recital, Erin Besser and Trevor Ross, voice, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Sat., April 7         Iowa Clarinet Day, all day, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sat., April 7         Civic Music Association presents: Lysander Piano Trio & Charles Neidich, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium. General admission charged, student rush tickets available.

Sun., April 8       Senior Recital, Jacob Lemons, Saxophone, 1:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Sun., April 8       Junior Recital, David Ryu, cello, 4:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Thurs., April 12 Junior Recital, Anna Steenson and Angela Jacksack, cello and piano, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow

Fri., April 13      Senior Recital, Mollie Lawler, mezzo-soprano, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Fri., April 13        Patty’s Place Jazz Series presents: Roger Ingram with the Drake Jazz Ensemble I, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center. General admission charged, student tickets free.

Sat., April 14       Senior Recital, Dariya Kimmes, musical theatre, 1:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sat., April 14     Senior Recital, Hannah Stibbe, musical theatre, 7:30pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sun., Apr 15     Senior Recital, Rachael Demaree, bassoon, 1:30pm. Sheslow Auditorium

Mon., April 16   WWII concert/lecture, 7:30pm, Turner Jazz Center

Mon., April 16    Flute Studio Recital, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Thurs., April 19  Turner Center Jazz Orchestra presents: Artistry in Rhythm – the Music of Stan Kenton, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center. General admission charged, student tickets free.

Sat. April 21-22    April 21, 7:30; April 22, 3:00 - Beethoven “Mass in C Major” featuring all four Drake      choruses and a faculty/student orchestra, St. Ambrose Cathedral, 6th Avenue and High Street, Des MoinesTickets are $17 for non-students; $7 for students and can be obtained online at www.drake.edu/choralperformances or at the Drake Fine Arts Box Office, 515.271.2841

Sat., April 21      Senior Recital, Kathleen Gabriel, voice, 1:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Sun., April 22    Senior Recital, Madeline McKeown, musical theatre, 1:30pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sun., April 22     Recital, Samantha Ohlson, saxophone, 4:30pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sun., April 22     Masterclass, Miyamoto, piano, 6pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Mon., April 23  Guest Recital: Peter Miyamoto, piano, on the Yamaha CFX concert grand; 7:30pm., Sheslow Auditorium; part of the Keys to Excellence Piano Concert Series sponsored by Yamaha, West Music, Civic Music Association, and Drake University. 

Tues., April 24    Drake Wind Symphony Concert, Robert Meunier, conductor, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Wed., April 25 Combo night, 7pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Thurs., April 26  Drake Jazz Ensemble II Concert, James Romain, director, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sat., April 28 -    Des Moines Symphony Orchestra,Masterworks 6: Elgar’s Enigma Variations. Sat. at 7:30,
Sun., April 29      Sun. at 2:30, Civic Center. General admission charged, Student Rush Tickets available.

Sat., April 28     Junior Recital, Mariah Tietjen, saxophone, 1:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Tues., May 1       Drake Symphonic Band Concert, Vincent Kenney, conductor, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Fri., May 4 - 7       Drake Opera presents: The Magic Flute by W. A. Mozart, Ann Cravero, director., Performing Arts Hall. General admission required.

Sat., May 5        Faculty Recital, Vince Kenney, low brass, 11am, Sheslow Auditorium

Sat., May 5          Drake Symphony Orchestra Concert, Akira Mori, conductor, 3 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Wed., May 6       Nicholas Roth's piano studio recital, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Mon., May 7       Saxophone Quartet Recital, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Tues., May 8       Percussion Ensemble Concert, 7:30 p.m., Performing Arts Hall

Wed., May 9       Brass Choir Concert, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sat., May 12        Civic Music Association presents: Eighth Blackbird, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium. General admission required, student rush tickets available.

Sun., May 13       Des Moines Community Orchestra, 2 p.m., Performing Arts Hall

Sun., May 13       Senior Recital, Pablo Valladares, piano, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

 

 

 

Theatre Productions

Thurs., Feb. 22-Sun., Feb. 25
Student Directed Mainstage:

Almost Blue
by Keith Redin
Directed by Brock Webb

Next Fall
By Geoffrey Nauffts
Directed by Colin Meyer

7:30 p.m. (Feb. 22-24), 2:00 p.m. (Feb. 25); William S. E. Coleman Studio Theatre, Harmon Fine Arts Center
For tickets and more information, please visit www.drake.edu/fineartsboxoffice/

Thurs., Apr. 5-Sun., Apr. 8
The Trojan Women
Based on the play by Euripides
Directed by Mirla Criste
7:30 p.m. (Apr. 5-7), 2:00 p.m. (Apr. 8) Performing Arts Hall, Harmon Fine Arts Center
For tickets and more information, please visit www.drake.edu/fineartsboxoffice/

Thurs., May 3-Sun., May 6
A Piece of My Heart
By Shirley Lauro
Directed by TBD
7:30 p.m. (May 3-5), 2:00 p.m. (May 6) Performing Arts Hall, Harmon Fine Arts Center
For tickets and more information, please visit www.drake.edu/fineartsboxoffice/

 

  Harmon Fine Arts Center Box Office Hours:

Monday - Friday, noon - 6:00 p.m. 
Saturday and Sunday, noon - 4:00 p.m.
515-271-3841


Fine Arts Events
no events have been scheduled
Fine Arts News
February 15, 2018
Drake University Theatre’s upcoming repertory showcase features two full-length, mainstage productions that vary significantly in style and message. The shows run Feb. 22-25.