Art Exhibitions

Fri., Sept. 11 - Fri., Oct. 23
‘IDEAS AT WAR: American Propaganda Posters of World War II’
An exhibition featuring over fifty original wartime posters from the collection of the State Historical Museum of Iowa, curated by Professor John Fender.
Opening reception on Fri., Sept. 11 from 5:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m.


Anderson Gallery
 Information

Hours:

Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday: 12:00-4:00 p.m.
Thursday: 12:00-8:00 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: 12:00-4:00 p.m.

The Gallery is closed on Mondays.

All exhibitions are free and open to the public


Musical Performances

Zenith Chamber Music Festival
Aug. 18-21, 2015

  • Tues., Aug. 18, 7:30 p.m.; Caspe Terrace; 33158 Ute Ave, Waukee, IA 50263
  • Wed., Aug. 19, 7:30 p.m.; Des Moines Art Center; 4700 Grand Ave, Des Moines, IA 50312; Pre-Concert Presentation given by Des Moines Area Suzuki Institute
  • Thurs., Aug. 20, 1:00 p.m.; Master Class, Drake University, Sheslow Auditorium; 2507 University Ave, Des Moines, IA 50311
  • Thurs., Aug. 20, 5:30 p.m.; Des Moines Social Club; 900 Mulberry St, Des Moines, IA 50309; Pre-Concert Presentation given by ClearJoy Music
  • Fri., Aug. 21, 10:00 a.m.; Open Octet Rehearsal, Drake University, Sheslow Auditorium; 2507 University Ave, Des Moines, IA 50311
  • Fri., Aug. 21, 7:30 p.m.; Drake University, Sheslow Auditorium; 2507 University Ave, Des Moines, IA 50311; Pre-Concert Lecture given by Dr. Eric Saylor

For more information visit www.drake.edu/zenith

Tues., Sept. 1
Faculty Recital, Graydon McGrannahan, trombone
7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Wed., Sept. 2
Masterclass, Eric Ferring, voice
4:00 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Fri., Sept. 4
Faculty Recital, Edward Corpus, bass
7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Fri., Sept. 11
Masterclass, Deborah Popham, soprano
2:00 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sun., Sept. 13
Guest Artist, Deborah Popham, soprano, and Ben Harris, piano
1:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Thurs., Sept. 17
Faculty Recital, Zo Manfredi, violin; with guest artists Shari Rhoads, piano, and Josh Johnson, french horn
7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Fri., Sept. 18
Masterclass, Charlie Nichols: composer, creator/interpreter lecture series
2:00 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Fri., Sept. 25
Drake Jazz Ensemble I and II, Andrew Classen and James Romain, conductors
7:30 p.m., Performing Arts Hall

Thurs., Oct. 1
Turner Center Jazz Orchestra presents: Black and Tanner. Special Guest Tannery Taylor performs works by Duke Ellington including the Black and Tan Fantasy.
7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center.  Free student rush tickets.  Tickets available at http://turnercenterjazzorchestra.org/Turner_Center_Jazz_Orchestra.html

Sun., Oct. 4
Faculty Recital, Ann Cravero, mezzo-soprano, featuring Stephan Swanson, baritone
2:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sun., Oct. 11
Fall Choral Concert featuring the Drake Choir and Chamber Choir, Aimee Beckmann-Collier, conductor; Drake Chorale, Linda Vanderpool, conductor
3:00 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sun., Oct. 11
Drake Orchestra Concert, Christian Schrock, conductor
7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sat., Oct. 17
Jordan Concert Series featuring James Valenti, tenor
7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Fri., Oct. 23
Junior Recital, Jill Morgan, soprano, and Sam Nolte, baritone
7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sat., Oct. 24
Senior Recital, Adam Jedlicka, Musical Theatre
7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sun., Oct. 25
Guest Artist Recital, Duet Commixtus, violin and bassoon
7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Mon., Oct. 26
Keys to Excellence Piano Series, Francine Kay from Princeton University
7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium
*This concert is part of the Keys to Excellence Piano Series, created to raise awareness of Drake’s fundraising efforts for the purchase of 70 brand new Yamaha pianos for the music department. Keys to Excellence features internationally acclaimed artists performing on the magnificent Yamaha CFX concert grand. Sponsored by Yamaha, West Music, Civic Music Association, and Drake University. For more information, contact Nicholas Roth at (515) 321-5947 or nicholas.roth@drake.edu.

Wed., Oct. 28
Faculty Recital, Sarah Plum, violin, featuring Francine Kay, piano
7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sun., Nov. 1
Senior Recital, Kassy Gold, flute
7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Thurs., Nov. 5
Guest Artist Recital, Julia Nolan, saxophone
7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sat., Nov. 7
Senior Recital, Jenny Bjoin, soprano
4:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sat., Nov. 7
Senior Recital, Emma Henry, voice
7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sun., Nov. 8
Junior Recital, Colleen Seuren, oboe
7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Mon., Nov. 9
Flute Studio Recital
7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sun., Nov. 15
Faculty Recital, Leslie Marrs, flute
4:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Thurs., Nov. 19
Faculty Recital, David Crabbs, guitar
7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Thurs., Nov. 19
Turner Center Jazz Orchestra presents: Miles Ahead! Ryan Truesdell flies in from New York to conduct the TCJO in a rare performance of Gil Evans’ original arrangements of the Miles Davis Album, Miles Ahead.
7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center.  Free student rush tickets.  Tickets available at http://turnercenterjazzorchestra.org/Turner_Center_Jazz_Orchestra.html

Fri., Nov. 20
Drake Jazz Ensemble I, Andrew Classen, director
7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sat., Nov. 21 - Sun., Nov. 22
Drake Choir, Chamber Choir, Chorale, Drake University Community Chorus, featuring a faculty/student orchestra, Aimee Beckmann-Collier, conductor, in performances of Morten Lauridsen’s “Lux Asterna” and John Rutter’s “Gloria”.
Sat. at 7:30 p.m. and Sun. at 3 p.m.; St. Ambrose Cathedral (6th and High Streets in downtown Des Moines); Tickets are $17 for non-students and $7 for students. Tickets will go on sale on Monday, November 9, and are available online at: www.drake.edu/choralperformances or at the Drake Fine Arts Box Office (271-3841).

Mon., Nov. 30
Keys to Excellence Piano Series, Nicholas Roth
7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium
*This concert is part of the Keys to Excellence Piano Series, created to raise awareness of Drake’s fundraising efforts for the purchase of 70 brand new Yamaha pianos for the music department. Keys to Excellence features internationally acclaimed artists performing on the magnificent Yamaha CFX concert grand. Sponsored by Yamaha, West Music, Civic Music Association, and Drake University. For more information, contact Nicholas Roth at (515) 321-5947 or nicholas.roth@drake.edu.

Tues., Dec. 1
String Chamber Ensemble Concert
7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Thurs., Dec. 3
Drake Jazz Ensemble II, James Romain, conductor
7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Fri., Dec. 4
Drake University Honor Band Festival Concert I, featuring the Drake Wind Symphony, Wind Ensemble, and Concert Band, Robert Meunier, conductor
7:30 p.m., Performing Arts Hall

Sat., Dec. 5
Drake University Honor Band Festival Concert II, featuring high school students from throughout Iowa performing as members of the Honors Wind Ensemble and Honors Concert Band under the direction of nationally recognized guest conductors
5:00 p.m., Performing Arts Hall

Sat., Dec. 5 - Sun. Dec. 6
Christmas Madrigal Dinners, featuring the Drake Chamber Choir, Aimee Beckmann-Collier, conductor.
Saturday at 7:00 p.m., Sunday at 5:00 p.m., Olmsted Center.
Tickets are $55 per person and all seats are reserved.  Tickets will go on sale on Monday, November 16, and are available online at: www.drake.edu/choralperformances or at the Drake Fine Arts Box Office (271-3841) Monday through Friday, noon to 6 p.m..

Mon., Dec. 7
Senior Recital, Blaise Rothwell, percussion
7:30 p.m., Performing Arts Hall

Tues., Dec. 8
Saxophone Ensemble Concert
7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Wed., Dec. 9
Drake Orchestra Concert, Christian Schrock, conductor
7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

 

 

Theatre Productions

Thurs., Oct. 8 - Sun., Oct. 11
Blood Wedding
 
by Federico Garcia Lorca
Adapted and directed by John Graham; performed in Studio 55, Harmon Fine Arts Center
Tickets are $8 for adults and $6 for students and those with a Drake Card
Oct. 8-10 at 7:30 p.m., Oct. 11 at 2:00 p.m.

Fri., Oct. 30 - Sun., Nov. 1
Student Theatre Production Showcase
; performed in Studio 55
Oct. 30-31 at 7:30 p.m., Nov. 1 at 2:00 p.m.

Thurs., Nov. 19 - Sun., Nov. 21
Fiorello! Music by Jerry Bock, lyrics by Sheldon Harnick,
Book by Jerome Weidman & George Abbott
Directed and Choreographed by Karla Kash
Performed in the Performing Arts Hall, Harmon Fine Arts Center
Nov. 19-21 at 7:30 p.m., Nov. 22 at 2:00 p.m.

 

Harmon Fine Arts Center Box Office Hours:

Monday - Friday, noon - 6:00 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday, noon - 4:00 p.m.
515-271-3841


×