Recognition at Drake

Teaching, Mentoring, and Excellence Awards publicly recognize those who demonstrate their continued commitment to their community, profession, and Drake.

Madelyn M. Levitt Distinguished Community Service Award is awarded to a faculty or staff member to recognize outstanding contributions of Drake faculty and staff to the Drake community. Recipients show a demonstrated personal commitment to volunteerism and community service in our region, state, and/or nation.

Madelyn M. Levitt Employee Excellence Award is presented to two staff employees who demonstrate exceptional commitment to excellence in the performance of their duties, consistently going above and beyond the regular expectations of the position, while demonstrating a strong commitment to Drake University.

Madelyn M. Levitt Mentor Award honors the faculty or staff employee who demonstrates excellence in advising and mentoring students.

Special University and Distinguished Professorships are available to all full professors at Drake University. Appointments are generally five years. These professorships are available in each of the colleges and schools at Drake University.

Called to be True Blue recognizes staff members who demonstrates excellence, learning, integrity, citizenship and/or fiscal responsibility.  Nominations are received from Drake community members and are determined by All Staff Council.

University News
September 12, 2014
Gereon Kopf, associate professor of religion at Luther College, will deliver a lecture titled “When Expression is Expressed, Non-Expression is Not-Expressed: A Zen Buddhist Approach to Talking About the Ineffable” as part of The Comparison Project’s fall 2014 programming.