Moot Court Awards

The Moot Court Board aims to further the art of appellate, trial, and skills advocacy at Drake Law School.

The Drake Law School Moot Court Program consists of three intra-school competitions and 10 inter-law school competitions conducted at various times throughout the school year.

The Moot Court Board members are responsible for organizing all aspects of each team's involvement in the moot court competitions. In addition, the members serve as student coaches to the competitors.

Each year at the Moot Court Luncheon, the Moot Court Board presents awards honoring accomplishments during the past year.

Davis, Brown, Koehn, Shors & Roberts P.C. Awards for Excellence

This award is presented to the four finalists in the Supreme Court Competition.

2017 recipients:
Adam Babinat
Samantha Farmer
Stephanie Sailer
Johnathan Sears

Rodney L. Hudson Senior Advocacy Award

Each year this award is presented to a senior student who is judged by the moot court adviser to have given the most outstanding overall performance in moot court competitions throughout his or her law school career. The annual cash award is funded by the Rodney L. Hudson Family Foundation, established in honor of Rodney L. Hudson, LW’16, whose career exemplified excellence in advocacy.

2017 recipient:
Daniel Peacock

M. Gene Blackburn Award

This annual cash award, funded by the Cedar Rapids, Iowa, law firm of Moyer & Bergman, is presented to the student who submits the best brief for the Supreme Court Competition. The recipient is chosen on the basis of superior writing skills that communicate an issue position based upon an innovative, creative, and concise approach. The award is named for M. Gene Blackburn, LW’55, in recognition of his dedication to the development of appellate advocacy while a professor at Drake Law School.

2017 recipient:
Adam Babinat

Drake Law School Alumni Service Award

This award is given annually to an alumnus for his or her generosity and dedication to the Drake Law School Moot Court Program.

2017 recipient:
Louis Sloven, LW’15

Order of the Barristers

The Order of the Barristers is a national society whose purpose is to recognize special efforts and contributions to moot court programs in American law schools. Membership is voted on the basis of outstanding participation in moot court competitions and service to the Drake Moot Court Board.

Order of the Barristers 2017:

Jenna Bishop
Kylie Crawford
James Duff
Shannon Holmberg
Alexandria Merschman
Tara J. Miller
Daniel Peacock
Monika Sehic
Lucas Sterbick
Alexis Warner

Honorary Member of the Order of the Barristers

This award is given annually to an alumnus or friend of Drake Law School in recognition of his or her contribution to the Moot Court Program and example as an outstanding advocate in practice.

2017 recipient:
Matthew G. Doré

Law School Events
February 21, 2018
12:00 PM - 01:00 PM
March 5, 2018
12:00 PM - 04:30 PM
Law School News
February 2, 2018
Four alumni from Drake Law School were named to the Business Record’s 2018 Forty Under 40 list, which recognizes local business leaders in the Greater Des Moines area.