Student Bar Association Awards

The Student Bar Association (SBA) serves as the official governing body for the entire student body of Drake Law School.

Each year, the SBA presents awards honoring individuals who have made an extraordinary contribution to the success of the SBA programs or to the life of the student body as a whole. The awards are presented at the SBA Luncheon and Awards Ceremony as well as the Supreme Court Celebration Banquet.

SBA President’s Student Service Award

2017 recipients:
Adam Babinat
Brody Swanson
Alexis Warner

SBA Executive Board’s Outstanding Student Leader Award

2017 recipients:
Cedric Adams
Shannon Holmberg
Tara Miller

SBA Executive Board’s Dean Sevice Award

2017 recipient:
John Edwards, associate dean for Information Resources and Technology

SBA Executive Board’s Staff Sevice Award

2017 recipient:
Kristi Longtin, administrative assistant, East Bay Faculty

Leland Forrest Outstanding Professor Award

The recipient of this award is selected each year by students of the graduating class. The award recognizes outstanding contribution to quality legal education both in and out of the classroom.

2017 recipient:
Matthew Doré, Richard M. and Anita Calkins Distinguished Professor of Law

SBA Shane Sweeney Supportive Spouse Award

This award is given annually by the Drake Law School Council of Leaders in memory of Shane Sweeney, the spouse of Meghann Sweeney, LW'09. It recognizes the spouse of a law student who has shown outstanding support of his/her spouse and the Law School.

2017 recipient:
Jordyn Swanson

Law School Events
February 21, 2018
12:00 PM - 01:00 PM
March 5, 2018
12:00 PM - 04:30 PM
Law School News
February 2, 2018
Four alumni from Drake Law School were named to the Business Record’s 2018 Forty Under 40 list, which recognizes local business leaders in the Greater Des Moines area.