Alumni Notes

We want to hear about your promotions, awards, and achievements! Send your alumni notes to

Douglas Scheidt, LW'78, announces retirement from SEC

Douglas Scheidt, an associate director and the chief counsel in the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Division of Investment Management, will retire at the end of September. For over 21 years, Scheidt has led the Division’s chief counsel’s office and provided legal and policy guidance for the $82 trillion asset management industry.

Anjela Shutts, LW'96, receives Willie Stevenson Glanton Award

Polk County Women Attorneys honored Anjela Shutts, attorney at Whitfield & Eddy Law, with the prestigious Willie Stevenson Glanton Award for her leadership and success in making the Des Moines metro a better place to live.

Tom Henderson, LA'77, LW'80, inducted to American College of Trial Lawyers

Whitfield & Eddy attorney Tom Henderson was inducted as a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers (ACTL) in Phoenix, Ariz. Henderson has represented clients in litigation, business, and municipal law matters at the firm for 28 years.

Tomas M. Zurek, BN'70, LW'74, selected as Distinguished Barrister Award recipient

Tom M. Zurek, senior chief legal counsel, executive vice president, and secretary for OneAmerica, was chosen as a 2018 recipient of Indiana Lawyer's Distinguished Barrister Award. The honorees will be profiled in the May 2 issue of Indiana Lawyer and recognized at a reception in May.

Paul Carter, LW’95, named president of Long Beach Bar Association

Paul Carter was installed as president of the Long Beach Bar Association. Carter is a partner at Bergkvist, Bergkvist & Carter, LLP, in Long Beach, Calif. He is also concluding his third year as chairman of the St. Mary Medical Center Foundation Board of Trustees.

Keith Duffy, LW'11, admitted as shareholder at Nyemaster Goode, P.C.

Keith Duffy has been admitted as a shareholder to Nyemaster Goode, P.C. As a member of the firm’s Litigation Department, Duffy's practice involves claims of bad faith related to the handling of workers’ compensation submissions, as well as creditor rights and bankruptcy disputes.

Ashley (Watts) Aust, LW’10, Leslie Behaunek, LW’12, Charlie Bottenberg, LW’13, and Krystle Campa, LW’07, named to Business Record’s Forty Under 40

Four alumni from Drake Law School were named to the Business Record’s 2018 Forty Under 40 list of honorees: Ashley (Watts) Aust, associate general counsel at Hubbell Realty Company; Leslie Behaunek, attorney at Nyemaster Goode, P.C.; Charlie Bottenberg, attorney at Masterson & Bottenberg, LLP; and Krystle Campa, senior shareholder attorney at the Davis Brown Law Firm. Members of the Drake Law community have been represented on the Forty Under 40 list every year since the Business Record began the awards in 2000.

Amanda James, LW'08, promoted to shareholder at Sullivan & Ward, P.C.

Sullivan & Ward, P.C. announced the promotion of Amanda A. James to shareholder. James is a public utility attorney with experience in public utility law and regulation through representation of clients in the electric, gas, telecommunications, water, and renewable energy industries.

Cassie J. Edgar, LW'07, joins McKee, Voorhees & Sease PLC

McKee, Voorhees & Sease PLC announced that Cassie J. Edgar is joining the firm as a member. Edgar will head up an initiative at the firm to develop a regulatory practice group, which will help MVS clients obtain approvals through federal agencies such as the FDA, USDA, and EPA, for product development and commercialization.

Bryan P. O’Neill, LW'11, elected shareholder of Dickinson, Mackaman, Tyler & Hagen P.C.

Bryan O’Neill was elected a shareholder of Dickinson, Mackaman, Tyler & Hagen P.C. O'Neill's practice involves various all types of litigation cases, including discrimination, retaliation, FMLA, wage and hour, and wrongful termination. Additionally, he counsels clients in the employment area on compliance with state and federal laws.

Lisa Kirkpatrick, LW'01, receives promotion in U.S. Attorney's Office for District of Minnesota

Assistant U.S. Attorney Lisa Kirkpatrick was named the Chief of the Appellate Division and Chief of the St. Paul Branch office of the U.S. Attorney’s Office for the District of Minnesota. Kirkpatrick has worked for the U.S. Attorney's Office since 2004.

John McKinney III, LW'97, and Randall Jackson, LW'97, coached 2017 Iowa Middle School Mock Trial state champions

John McKinney III and Randall Jackson coached the team from Des Moines Merrill that won the 2017 Iowa Middle School Mock Trial state tournament. McKinney is senior vice president and general counsel at West Bank. Jackson is an attorney and owner of the Jackson Law Office.

See more alumni notes:

Law School Events
Law School News
July 20, 2018
Drake Law School has established a new Institute for Justice Reform and Innovation. Directed by Judge Mark Bennett, the institute will serve as a center for research and training on implicit bias, sentencing reform, and improving trial procedures.