United Way/Iowa Shares Campaign 2013

Drake University is proud of its role and the results that have been achieved through United Way and Iowa Shares. Drake partners with over 35 different organizations who benefit from the support of UW/IS funding.  In the past, Drake University Legal Clinic and Adult Literacy Center have received funding from United Way to support our community outreach and student learning opportunities. Together, we are impacting the lives of Central Iowans and living our mission by providing an exceptional learning environment that prepares students for meaningful personal lives, professional accomplishments, and responsible global citizenship.

On behalf of all the agencies and individuals who will benefit from your support


Because of 243 Total Donors we broke records!

88 more donors than last year, and 130 were new participants!
Successful migration to an e-giving system, 206 donors gave electronically
24% Participation
A 9% increase & the highest rate in a Drake UW/IS Campaign
#1 in Participation Among Central Iowa Universities & Colleges
$51,774.37 Total Raised
The highest amount raised in a Drake UW/IS campaign!
$48,874.14 for United Way & $2,632.06 for Iowa Shares

 20 out of 26 Divisions Achieved Growth!!!
7 Divisions achieved 15% or More Growth!!

The Top 5 Divisions to achieve growth:
1.   Marketing & Communications, 82%
2.   OIT, 47%
3.   I Have a Dream, 67%
4.   President/Provost, 68%
5.   Law, 35%

Week 1 Incentive: United T-shirt, Specialty Coffee or Jeans Day Incentive Winners:

Tammy Agey, Chrystal Stanley,  Janet Wise,  Crystal Nance, Caron Findlay, Debra Lukehart, Emily Hamilton, Emily Weaver, Shannon Cofield, Daniel Akright, Leslie Merriman, Linda Anderzhon, Nora Stelter, Kathleen Hickman, Joyce Ryerson, Marilea Chase, Donna Blunck, Matthew Dore, Sara Hughes, Lance Noe, Nancy Geiger, Ellen Yee,  Michael Perin,  Kathy Jefferson, Shelley Hurst, Georgia Sheriff, Timothy Welty, Stephanie Lavia, Matthew Mitchell, Aimee Beckmann-Collier, Bridget Arrasmith, Charles Sengstock, Patrick Heaston, Sheila Govoni, Laura Berardi, Gretchen Beckley, Erica Hartschen, Deneese Jones, Daniel Hostager, John Rozycki, Mary Beth Holtey, Tricia Atterberg, Jeremy Sievers, Randi Boelkes, Alyssa Young, William Boal, Joyce Njoroge, J Paul Secord, Jill Brimeyer, Mary Anderson, Janet McMahill

Week 2 Incentives:

$15 certificate to Crème Bakery- Claudia Murphy
$10 certificate to Drake Diner- Michelle Krogulski & David McCord
$25 gift card to Haiku- Jackie Howard & Timothy Welty
$25 gift card to Planet Sub- Jennie Baranczyk, Ann VanHemert & Robert Oberbillig
Tickets to Varsity Theater- Tricia Atterberg
$25 gift card to Jethro's-Kristine Mogle
2 Tickets to a Men's Basketball Game- Sheila Govoni
2 Tickets to a Women's Basketball Game- June Johnson
$5 gift card to Subway- Frances Rockey and Tom Delahunt


About United Way of Central Iowa: United Way focuses on bold goals for the community in education, income, and health—the building blocks for a good quality of life. When we contribute to United Way, we build a thriving community, with healthy, productive individuals and families.


About Iowa Shares: The mission of Iowa Shares is to address the root causes of problems; help member organizations build better communities in Iowa; and promote a positive, progressive message that is empowering and inclusive of all people. Iowa Shares members give direct services and create long-lasting resources for our children and communities.

Why Give?

Drake’s commitment to the community runs deep and is a vital part of the Strategic Plan 2013–2017. Forty percent of the organizations funded through the Campaign strategically partner with Drake; without support for these organizations students would lose valuable service-learning and community engagement opportunities and children and their families are put at greater risk for not meeting their basic needs.

Here are just a few ways Drake is strengthening engagement in Greater Des Moines and beyond:

  • Drake collaborates with more than 80 nonprofits each academic year.
  • 80% of Drake students engage in community service and service-learning by the time they graduate.
  • Last year, Drake students, faculty, and staff contributed more than $1.3 million (calculated using independentcector.org’s value of a volunteer hour, $17.55 for Iowa) worth of service (locally, nationally, and globally)
  • Drake hosts eight outreach programs & organizations on campus, including: Character Counts, Adult Literacy Center, I Have A Dream Foundation, and "Sprout": The Des Moines Urban Youth Learning Garden and Greater Des Moines Buy Fresh Buy Local

How to Give?

This year’s campaign will be run electronically. Both the United Way and Iowa Shares offer the opportunity to give through payroll deduction, direct bill, a general fund to contribute to community needs and goals, or the option to designate a donation to a specific organization.

Make your gift online at:

United Way
Iowa Shares

If you prefer to not give online you can either select direct bill on the giving page or contact your campaign captain for a pledge card.

Please fill out the electronic forms, by Friday, Nov. 22. By checking the payroll deduction box, you will be able to spread your total gift commitment over a full 12-month period, beginning Jan. 1, 2013.


Our goal this year is to increase overall participation in the campaign by 15% points. We hope to have over 250 staff and faculty members make pledges in our campus giving campaign.

Please join us this year and make your United Way/Iowa Shares contribution count. If you have any questions, please contact Mandi McReynolds Director of Community Engagement & Service-Learning or Renee Sedlacek Assistant Director, Community Engagement

Campaign Captains

*Steering Committee Members

  • Admissions/Financial Aid: Deneen Dygert
  • Alumni & Development: Stephanie Lavia
  • Athletics: David Haskin
  • Art: Benjamin Gardner
  • Business & Finance: Tammy Agey
  • College of Business: VACANT
  • Community Outreach: Renee Sedlacek*
  • Education: Jill Johnson
  • Faciliites: Renee & Mandi
  • Head Start: Leslie Merriman
  • Human Resources: Debra Wiley
  • Humanities: VACANT
  • Information Technology: Michael Perin
  • International Programs: Denise Ganpat
  • Marketing & Comm: Danny Akright
  • Law: John Edwards
  • Library: VACANT
  • Pharmacy and Health Sciences: Denise Soltis
  • President's Office: Shannon Cofield*
  • Provost: Mandi McReynolds*
  • School of Journalism: VACANT
  • Science: Heidie Sleister
  • Student Life/Student Success: Stephanie Mohler