Skip Sub Menu

Student & Alumni Accomplishments

Accolades 2018

Educational Leadership graduate, Noreen Colbeck-Bush was promoted to Deputy Superintendent of the Cedar Rapids Communiity School District.  Noreen has been an educator for 24 years.  She received her MSE in Educational Leadership from Drake in 2005.  

Doctoral Graduates Fall, 2017

  • Mickolyn Clapper Ed.D., Advisor: Dr. Robyn Cooper  
  • Sara Coleman Ed.D., Advisor: Dr. Robyn Cooper  
  • Brooke Gevock Ph.D., Advisor: Dr. Sally Beisser  
  • Jeffry Grassmeyer Ph.D., Advisor: Dr. Robyn Cooper
  • Derrick Craig Joel Ed.D., Advisor: Dr. Catherine Gillespie  
  • Graham Jones Ed.D., Advisor: Dr. Sally Beisser  
  • Megan Knight Ph.D., Advisor: Dr. Robyn Cooper 
  • Susie Lubbers Ph.D., Advisor: Dr. Catherine Gillespie  
  • Kristopher Rollins Ph.D., Advisor: Dr. Jill Johnson  
  • Chuck Sengstock Ed.D., Advisor: Dr. Sally Beisser  
  • Joe Spiess Ph.D., Advisor: Dr. Robyn Cooper


Counseling program alum, Benjamin Barry, MS ’09, was recently granted the Middle Level School Counselor of the Year award from the Iowa School Counselor Association. Barry is a Middle School Counselor in the Carlisle Community School District.

In April 2017, School Counseling student, Gina Beals was appointed as a Graduate Student Chair to the Iowa School Counselors Association Board. She will be representing all school counseling students in Iowa.

In April 2017, Megan Wagner, a pre-service STEM educator received a scholarship from the Iowa Space Grant Consortium.

In January 2017, Loan Nguyen, ED’15, a Roosevelt High School English teacher, received a call from U.S. Secretary of Education John King. Periscope TV broadcast the call live, and Mr. King thanked Loan for including all students, for being an inspirational role model, and for her contribution to students' learning.

SOE News
February 22, 2018
The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) has publicly reaffirmed accreditation of Drake University for an additional 10 years.