Academic Calendar

Summer 2016

  • May 16 (Mon.)
    Summer term begins
  • May 30 (Mon.)
    Memorial Day (classes do not meet)
  • Jul 4 (Mon.)
    Independence Day (classes do not meet)
  • Aug 21 (Sun.)
    Summer term ends

Fall 2016 (Non Law School)

  • Aug. 29 (Mon.)
    Fall term begins
  • Sept. 2 (Fri.)
    Last day to add a class
  • Sept. 5 (Mon.)
    Labor Day (classes do not meet)
  • Sept. 12 (Mon.)
    Last day to drop a class without a “W”
  • Sept. 23-25 (Fri.-Sun.)
    Parent/Family Weekend
  • Sept. 23-25 (Fri.-Sun.)
    Homecoming Weekend
  • TBD
    Mandatory fire drill
  • Oct. 17-18 (Mon.-Tues.)
    Fall break
  • Oct. 19 (Wed.)
    Midpoint of semester
  • Oct. 26 (Wed.)
    Last day to drop a Fall 2016 class without extenuating circumstances
  • Nov. 22 (Tues.)
    Thanksgiving recess begins after evening classes
  • Nov. 28 (Mon.)
    Classes resume
  • Dec. 9 (Fri.)
    Day free for study
  • Dec. 12-16 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Final evaluation period
  • Dec. 16 (Fri.)
    Fall term ends
  • Dec. 17 (Sat.)
    Commencement

J-Term 2017

  • Jan. 3 (Tue.)
    Beginning of J-term
  • Jan. 16 (Mon.)
    Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (classes do not meet)
  • Jan. 20 (Fri.)
    End of J-term

Spring 2017 (Non Law School)

  • Jan. 23 (Mon.)
    Spring term begins
  • Jan. 27 (Fri.)
    Last day to add a class
  • Feb. 3 (Fri.)
    Last day to drop a class without a “W”
  • Mar. 10 (Fri.)
    Midpoint of semester
  • Mar. 13-17 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Spring break
  • TBD (Fri.)
    Last day to drop a Spring 2017 class without extenuating circumstances
  • Apr. 27-29 (Thurs. - Sat.)
    Drake Relays
  • Apr. 28 (Fri.)
    Undergraduate classes dismissed at 1:50pm
  • May 5 (Fri.)
    Day free for study
  • May 8-12 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Final evaluation period
  • May 12 (Fri.)
    Spring term ends
  • May 13 (Sat.)
    Commencement

Summer 2017

  • May 15 (Mon.)
    Summer term begins
  • May 29 (Mon.)
    Memorial Day (classes do not meet)
  • Jul 4 (Tue.)
    Independence Day (classes do not meet)
  • TBA (Sun.)
    Summer term ends

Fall 2017 (Non Law School)

  • Aug. 28 (Mon.)
    Fall term begins
  • Sept. 1 (Fri.)
    Last day to add a class
  • Sept. 4 (Mon.)
    Labor Day (classes do not meet)
  • Sept. 11 (Mon.)
    Last day to drop a class without a “W”
  • TBA (Sat.-Sun.)
    Parent/Family Weekend
  • TBA (Wed)
    Mandatory fire drill
  • TBA (Fri.-Sat.)
    Homecoming Weekend
  • Oct. 16-17 (Mon.-Tues.)
    Fall break
  • Oct. 18 (Wed.)
    Midpoint of semester
  • Oct. 25 (Wed.)
    Last day to drop a class without extenuating circumstances
  • Nov. 21 (Tues.)
    Thanksgiving recess begins after evening classes
  • Nov. 27 (Mon.)
    Classes resume
  • Dec. 8 (Fri.)
    Day free for study
  • Dec. 11-15 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Final evaluation period
  • Dec. 15 (Fri.)
    Fall term ends
  • Dec. 16 (Sat.)
    Commencement

J-Term 2018

  • Jan. 3 (Wed.)
    Beginning of J-term
  • Jan. 15 (Mon.)
    Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (classes do not meet)
  • Jan. 26 (Fri.)
    End of J-term

Spring 2018 (Non Law School)

  • Jan. 29 (Mon.)
    Spring term begins
  • Feb. 2 (Fri.)
    Last day to add a class
  • Feb. 9 (Fri.)
    Last day to drop a class without a “W”
  • Mar. 16 (Fri.)
    Midpoint of semester
  • TBA (Mon.-Fri.)
    Spring break
  • Mar. 30 (Fri.)
    Last day to drop a class without extenuating circumstances
  • Apr. 26-28 (Thurs.-Sat.)
    Drake Relays
  • Apr. 27 (Fri.)
    Undergraduate classes dismissed at 1:50pm
  • May 11 (Fri.)
    Day free for study
  • May 14-18 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Final evaluation period
  • May 18 (Fri.)
    Spring term ends
  • May 20 (Sun.)
    Commencement

This is the official Academic Calendar for Drake University.  It is updated and maintained by the Office of Student Records.

University News
May 20, 2016
Drake University students have lobbied for years to #BringDrakeToDrake, and we’re eager to welcome this talented singer and songwriter to our hometown.
×