Academic Calendar

Summer 2015

  • May 18 (Mon.)
    Summer term begins
  • May 25 (Mon.)
    Memorial Day (classes do not meet)
  • Jul 3 (Fri.)
    Independence Day (classes do not meet)
  • Aug 23 (Sun.)
    Summer term ends

Fall 2015 (Non Law School)

  • Aug. 31 (Mon.)
    Fall term begins
  • Sept. 4 (Fri.)
    Last day to add a class
  • Sept. 7 (Mon.)
    Labor Day (classes do not meet)
  • Sept. 14 (Mon.)
    Last day to drop a class without a “W”
  • Sept 26-27 (Sat.-Sun.)
    Parent/Family Weekend
  • Oct. 7 (Wed)
    Mandatory fire drill
  • Oct. 9-10 (Fri.-Sat.)
    Homecoming Weekend
  • Oct. 19-20 (Mon.-Tues.)
    Fall break
  • Oct. 21 (Wed.)
    Midpoint of semester
  • Oct. 28 (Wed.)
    Last day to drop a Fall 2015 class without extenuating circumstances
  • Nov. 24 (Tues.)
    Thanksgiving recess begins after evening classes
  • Nov. 30 (Mon.)
    Classes resume
  • Dec. 11 (Fri.)
    Day free for study
  • Dec. 14-18 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Final evaluation period
  • Dec. 18 (Fri.)
    Fall term ends
  • Dec. 19 (Sat.)
    Commencement

J-Term 2016

  • Jan. 4 (Mon.)
    Beginning of J-term
  • Jan. 18 (Mon.)
    Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (classes do not meet)
  • Jan. 22 (Fri.)
    End of J-term

Spring 2016 (Non Law School)

  • Jan. 25 (Mon.)
    Spring term begins
  • Jan. 29 (Fri.)
    Last day to add a class
  • Feb. 5 (Fri.)
    Last day to drop a class without a “W”
  • Mar. 11 (Fri.)
    Midpoint of semester
  • Mar. 14-18 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Spring break
  • Mar. 25 (Fri.)
    Last day to drop a Spring 2015 class without extenuating circumstances
  • Apr. 28-30 (Thurs. - Sat.)
    Drake Relays
  • Apr. 29 (Fri.)
    Undergraduate classes dismissed at 1:50pm
  • May 6 (Fri.)
    Day free for study
  • May 9-13 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Final evaluation period
  • May 13 (Fri.)
    Spring term ends
  • May 15 (Sun.)
    Commencement

Summer 2016

  • May 16 (Mon.)
    Summer term begins
  • May 30 (Mon.)
    Memorial Day (classes do not meet)
  • Jul 4 (Mon.)
    Independence Day (classes do not meet)
  • TBD (Sun.)
    Summer term ends (To be determined when Law School establishes its fall semester start date

Fall 2016 (Non Law School)

  • Aug. 29 (Mon.)
    Fall term begins
  • Sept. 2 (Fri.)
    Last day to add a class
  • Sept. 5 (Mon.)
    Labor Day (classes do not meet)
  • Sept. 12 (Mon.)
    Last day to drop a class without a “W”
  • Sept. 23-25 (Fri.-Sun.)
    Parent/Family Weekend
  • Sept. 23-25 (Fri.-Sun.)
    Homecoming Weekend
  • TBD
    Mandatory fire drill
  • Oct. 17-18 (Mon.-Tues.)
    Fall break
  • Oct. 19 (Wed.)
    Midpoint of semester
  • Oct. 26 (Wed.)
    Last day to drop a Fall 2016 class without extenuating circumstances
  • Nov. 22 (Tues.)
    Thanksgiving recess begins after evening classes
  • Nov. 28 (Mon.)
    Classes resume
  • Dec. 9 (Fri.)
    Day free for study
  • Dec. 12-16 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Final evaluation period
  • Dec. 16 (Fri.)
    Fall term ends
  • Dec. 17 (Sat.)
    Commencement

J-Term 2017

  • Jan. 3 (Tue.)
    Beginning of J-term
  • Jan. 16 (Mon.)
    Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (classes do not meet)
  • Jan. 20 (Fri.)
    End of J-term

Spring 2017 (Non Law School)

  • Jan. 23 (Mon.)
    Spring term begins
  • Jan. 27 (Fri.)
    Last day to add a class
  • Feb. 3 (Fri.)
    Last day to drop a class without a “W”
  • Mar. 10 (Fri.)
    Midpoint of semester
  • Mar. 13-17 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Spring break
  • TBD (Fri.)
    Last day to drop a Spring 2017 class without extenuating circumstances
  • Apr. 27-29 (Thurs. - Sat.)
    Drake Relays
  • Apr. 28 (Fri.)
    Undergraduate classes dismissed at 1:50pm
  • May 5 (Fri.)
    Day free for study
  • May 8-12 (Mon.-Fri.)
    Final evaluation period
  • May 12 (Fri.)
    Spring term ends
  • May 13 (Sat.)
    Commencement

This is the official Academic Calendar for Drake University.  It is updated and maintained by the Office of Student Records.

University News
February 4, 2016
Renae Chesnut, professor of pharmacy practice, has been named dean of the Drake University College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences (CPHS).
×