Skip Sub Menu

Collegial Structure

Drake University is a private and independent major university located in an urban setting in Des Moines, the capital of Iowa and its largest city. Enrollment is selective and size is limited.  The University is composed of six colleges and schools:

  • College of Arts and Sciences
  • College of Business and Public Administration
  • School of Education
  • School of Journalism and Mass Communication
  • School of Law
  • College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

Pre-professional programs in the College of Arts and Sciences meet requirements for admission to schools of church vocations, dentistry, engineering, law, medical technology, medicine, physical therapy, and social work.

Drake University also offers master’s degrees in accounting, business administration, communication, counseling, education, financial management, leadership development, public administration, and law, as well as the Doctor of Pharmacy, Doctor of Jurisprudence, Doctor of Education, and Doctor of Philosophy degrees. The following joint degrees also are offered: PharmD/JD, PharmD/MBA, PharmD/MPA, PharmD/MSLD, JD/MBA, and JD/MPA.


Drake University has been on the approved list of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools since 1913.  Since reorganization of the Association in 2000, Drake University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.  Drake was granted continuing accreditation in 2008.

Phone: 312-263-0456

In addition to University accreditation by the Higher Learning Commission, the following Colleges, Schools, and departments have been accredited by the agencies designated:

  • Teacher Education and Educational Leadership programs are accredited by the Iowa Department of Education and the Iowa Board of Educational Examiners.
  • Law School: Accredited by the Council of American Bar Association’s Section of Legal Education and Admission to the Bar and a charter member of the Association of American Law Schools.
  • College of Business and Public Administration: Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business
  • College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences: Accredited by The Accreditation Council on Pharmacy Education.
  • School of Journalism and Mass Communication: Accredited by the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communication.
  • Department of Art and Design is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Art and Design.
  • Department of Chemistry is accredited by The American Chemical Society.
  • Department of Music is accredited by The National Association of Schools of Music.

Drake University is registered as a Private Institution with the Minnesota Office of Higher Education pursuant to sections 136A.61 to 136A.71. Registration is not an endorsement of the institution. Credits earned at the institution may not transfer to all other institutions.

2017-2018 Drake University Undergraduate Catalog
University News