Skip Sub Menu

Academic Freedom & Tenure

The Committee shall be the adjudicatory body for cases and controversies relating to academic freedom and tenure which are not resolved through informal procedures or through regular administrative channels.

The Committee shall have seven regular members and seven alternates. Members of the Committee and alternates shall be members of the Faculty of Instruction with tenure. The principle of broad representation shall be honored. The Committee shall elect the Committee Chair annually in December. Alternates shall be called to serve on the Committee in order of preference by the electing authority. If a member and his/her alternate are both unable to serve, the electing authority will select from among other alternates, giving preference to the one whose term will expire the same year as the member in whose place the alternate will serve. Committee members and alternates, except those selected for short terms to fill vacancies and first elected, shall serve three-year terms. The terms of office shall be staggered on a basis of three-two-two with annual election. (Academic Charter)


Name Unit Term of Service Expires Position
Regular Members      
Tim Welty CPHS May 2023  
Bart Schmidt Cowles May 2023  
Lee Jolliffe SJMC May 2023  
Jennifer McCrickerd AS May 2024 Chair
Mark Kende Law May 2024  
Joyce Njoroge CBPA May 2025  
Kevin Lam SOE May 2025  
Alternate Members      
Shankar Munusamy CPHS May 2023  
Carrie Dunham-LaGree Cowles May 2023  
Sandy Henry SJMC May 2023  
Tim Urness AS May 2024  
Allan Vestal Law May 2024  
VACANT CBPA May 2024  
Bengu Tekinalp SOE May 2025  



Note: Regular Faculty Senate meetings will be held via Zoom for academic year 2022 – 2023.