Friends of Drake Arts

Skip Sub Menu

Art Exhibitions

The art galleries are currently not open for visits. Email Julia.franklin@drake.edu for more information.

You can view past catalogues and artist talks here:
https://tinyurl.com/DrakeAndersonGalleryYouTube
https://theandersongallery.wordpress.com/

 

ANDERSON GALLERY

50th Annual Juried Student Exhibition

A virtual exhibition from March 7th - April 16th. The virtual exhibition and digital catalog will be debuted on Sunday, March 7 at 2pm as we live-stream the exhibition opening and awards ceremony.

All talks can be found on the Anderson Gallery Facebook page and YouTube page. They are archived on YouTube, so you don't have to watch live.

https://tinyurl.com/DrakeAndersonGalleryYouTube

 

WEEKS GALLERY

 Nothing currently showing


Musical Performances

Audience: All concerts are only available to Drake Fine Arts students as a face to face audience unless noted otherwise

Livestream: There are 3 different livestream links – one for performances in Sheslow, one for the Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center, and one for the Fine Art Center (Performing Arts Hall, Coleman Studio Theatre)

All previous events are archived and can be watched at any time on these YouTube channels 

Sheslow Auditorium livestream link: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCo8_AZmzNmx9PNASlT6HbDA

Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center Livestream link: 

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC6RR161j-wzigdwadzZw-aQ/

Fine Arts Center (Performing Arts Hall or the Coleman Studio Theatre) link: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_24NMBkqeEmzKzeXMWE0tw/  

February

Friday, Feb. 19, Senior Recital, Kevin Lawrence, clarinet 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Monday, Feb. 22, Senior Recital, Theresa Rukavina, violin, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

March

Friday, March 5, Junior Recital, Dina Perez and Cece Sanchez, musical theatre, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Wednesday. March 10, Junior Recital, Halle Fish, voice, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Friday, March 12, Senior Recital, Cora Jane Sly, voice, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Saturday, March 13, Junior Recital, Ben Jaeger and Mo Stacer, musical theatre, 7:30 p.m, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sunday, March 14, Drake Choir and spero, and Borealis Concert, 3pm, Sheslow Auditorium (no audience)

Monday, March 15, Junior Recital, Grace Graham, voice, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Friday, March 19 Junior Recital Casey Cerveny and Ryan Besser, voice, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Tuesday, March 22, Symphonic Band Concert, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium (no audience)

Sunday, March 28, Wind Symphony Concert, 1:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium (no audience)

Monday, March 29, Horn Studio Recital, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

April

Thursday, Apr. 1, Senior Recital, Brooke Carter, clarinet, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Friday, Apr. 2, Senior Recital, Brendan Sienko, baritone, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium 

Saturday, April 3, Evelyn Adam, oboe, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Wednesday, Apr. 7, Faculty Recital, Vince Kenney, euphonium, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Thursday, Apr. 8, Senior Recital, Isaac Lodwick, voice, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sunday, April 11, Flute Studio Concert, 12 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Thursday, Apr. 15, Senior Recital, Shane Scandurra, musical theatre, 7:40 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Friday, April 16th, Drake Symphony Orchestra concert, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Friday, Apr. 16, Senior Recital, Brandon Shreve, musical theatre, 7:30 p.m, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Saturday, Apr. 17, Senior Recital, Hailey Gutowski, soprano, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sunday, April 18th, Drake String Ensembles concert, 5 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sunday, Apr. 18, Senior Recital, Jack Griffin, musical theatre, 7:30 p.m. Sheslow Auditorium

Monday, April 19, Horn Studio Recital, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Tuesday, April 20, Jazz II, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Saturday, April 24, Drake Opera Theatre Presents: Opera Scenes, 7:30 p.m., Performing Arts Hall (no livestream available)

Sunday, April 25,  Drake Opera Theatre Presents: Opera Scenes, 2p.m., Performing Arts Hall (no livestream available)

Sunday, April 25, Senior Recital, Raina Simonsen, cello, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Tuesday, April 27, Senior Recital, Em Miles, musical theatre, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Wednesday, Apr. 28, Senior Recital, Logan Musel, percussion, 7:30 p.m., Performing Arts Hall

Wednesday, Apr. 28, Chamber Music recital 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Thursday, April 29, Senior Recital, Sarah Rosales, voice, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Friday, Apr. 30, Senior Recital, Sarah King, clarinet, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

May

Saturday, May 1, Jazz 1 Concert, 3 p.m., outside of the Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sunday, May 2nd, Drake Choir, spero, Borealis, Drake University Community Chorus Concert, 3 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium (no audience)

Sunday, May 2, Senior Recital, Aidan Sarmiento, musical theatre, 7:30 p.m. Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Monday, May 3, Low Brass Studio Recital, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Tuesday, May 4th, Wind Symphony Concert, 7:30 p.m., Performing Arts Hall (no audience)

Wednesday. May 5th, Symphonic Band Concert, 7:30 p.m, Performing Arts Hall (no audience)

Saturday, May 8, Senior Recital, Lauren Carroll, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

 

Theatre Productions

Harmon Fine Arts Center Box Office Hours:

Monday - Friday, 12 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. 
Saturday and Sunday, 12 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
515-271-3841

All shows will be available virtually (URL listed with each show listing) unless noted otherwise. There will be no face to face audience for the time being

Songs for a New World
Conceived by Daisy Prince, Music and Lyrics by Jason Robert Brown
Directed by Adam Yankowy
February 18-21, Coleman Studio Theatre
Purchase tickets to view virtually here: 
https://www.showtix4u.com/event-details/45340
 
Into the Woods
Music and Lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, Book by James Lapine
Directed by Erin Horst
April 1-4, Performing Arts Hall
Unavailable for virutal performance - student audience only 
 
Spunk
Written by George C. Wolfe, adapted from thee short stories by Zora Neale Hurston Music by Chic Street Man
Directed by Ken-Matt Martin
April 29-May 2, Coleman Studio Theatre
Unavailable for virutal performance - student audience only 

 

 

Fine Arts News