Friends of Drake Arts

Skip Sub Menu

Art Exhibitions

Friday, Nov. 9 - Friday, Feb. 20

An exhibition which will explore agency and activism in Des Moines' African American communities through art, family, community, and the history of the breakfast clubs. 

Opening reception Nov. 9 5-7pm. 

Anderson Gallery Information

Hours:

Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday: 12:00-4:00 p.m.
Thursday: 12:00-8:00 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: 12:00-4:00 p.m.

The Gallery is closed on Mondays and December 22 - January 1

All exhibitions are free and open to the public


Musical Performances

January 

Saturday, Jan. 19, Civic Music Association presents: Julian Lage Trio, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium, general admission charged, student rush tickets available

Wednesday, Jan. 23, Acting Through Arias Concert, Christine Blanner, director, 4 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

February

Friday, Feb. 1, Music Audition Day Concert, 2 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Friday, Feb. 1, Honors Recital, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sunday, Feb. 3, Senior Recital, Seth Hartman, trumpet, 5 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Tuesday, Feb. 5 Drake University Jazz Honor Band, featuring the Drake Jazz Ensemble I, 7 p.m., Performing Arts Hall. General admission charged, student tickets free

Friday, Feb. 8, Junior Recital, Kate Broderick, mezzo-soprano 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Saturday, Feb. 9, Junior Recital, Sydney Crutcher and Louisa Frey, voice, 5 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Saturday, Feb 9. Senior Recital, Noelle McVicar, soprano, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sunday, Feb. 10, Masterclass, Quentin Kim, piano, 2 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Monday, Feb. 11,  Guest Recital, Quentin Kim – Pusan National University (South Korea), piano, on the Yamaha CFX concert grand; 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium; part of the Keys to Excellence Piano Series. For more information contact Professor Nicholas Roth at nicholas.roth@drake.edu.

Saturday, Feb. 16, Senior Recital, Jackson Kealy, musical theatre, 2:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Saturday, Feb. 16, Drake Choir Benefit Concert in support of the May 2019 tour to France, Italy, and Austria. Tickets are $25 for non-students and $5 for students. 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium.  For tickets and more information, please visit www.drake.edu/fineartsboxoffice/

Fri., Feb. 22- Feb. 24, Drake Opera Theater presents: Falstaff, by Giuseppe Verdi. Directed by Stefano Vignati. Friday and Saturday at 7:30 p.m., Sunday at 2 p.m., Performing Arts Hall. General admission $15, students, seniors, and those with a Drake I.D. $10. For tickets and more information, please visit www.drake.edu/fineartsboxoffice/

Sunday, Feb. 24, Des Moines Community Orchestra, 2 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sunday, Feb. 24, Senior Recital, Kaleb Schulz, trumpet, 2:30 p.m. Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

March

Friday, Mar. 1, Jordan Concert Series Presents: Elisso Virsaladze, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Saturday, Mar. 2, Senior Recital, Jake Kiese, clarinet, 2:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Saturday, Mar. 2, Junior Recital, Emma Sullivan, cello, 5 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Saturday, Mar. 2, Senior Recital, Haley Wilson, mezzo-soprano, 7:30pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sunday, Mar. 3, Drake Wind Symphony Concert, Robert Meunier, conductor, 1:30 p.m., Performing Arts Hall

Sunday, Mar. 3, In Praise of Women, featuring the Drake Chorale Concert, Linda Vanderpool, conductor, 3 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Monday, Mar. 4, Masterclass with Jason Crafton and Marc Reed, trumpet, 4pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Monday, Mar. 4, Guest and Faculty Recital, Andrew Classen, Jason Crafton, and Marc Reed, trumpet, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Wednesday, Mar. 6, Combo Night featuring Drake Jazz combos, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Thursday, Mar. 7, Faculty Recital, Leslie Marrs, flute, and Sharon Johnson, piano, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Friday, Mar. 8, Drake Symphony Orchestra Concert, Akira Mori, conductor, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Friday, March 8, Senior Recital, Abigail Huskisson, Soprano, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Saturday, Mar. 9, Senior Recital, Melody DeRogatis, mezzo-soprano, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Saturday, Mar. 9, Civic Music Association presents 3 masterclasses at time TBD in Monroe, TJC, and Sheslow

Sun., March 10 Senior Recital, Andrew Hatfield, voice, 5 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sunday, March 10, Junior Recital, Lauren Lundy, voice, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium 

Monday, Mar. 11, Drake Symphonic Band Concert, Vince Kenney, conductor, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Tuesday, Mar. 12, Drake Choir/Chamber Choir Pre-Tour Concert, Aimee Beckmann-Collier, conductor, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sunday. Mar. 24, Masterclass, Thomas Rosenkranz, piano, 2 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Monday, Mar. 25:  Guest Recital, Thomas Rosenkranz – UMKC Conservatory of Music and Dance, piano, on the Yamaha CFX concert grand; 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium; part of the Keys to Excellence Piano Series. For more information contact Professor Nicholas Roth at nicholas.roth@drake.edu.

Tuesday, Mar. 26, Drake Jazz Ensemble I featuring the Norwalk High School Jazz Band, Andrew Classen, director, 7:00 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Saturday, Mar. 29 Civic Music Master class, time and place TBD

 Saturday, Mar. 31, Senior Recital, Taylor Weetman, clarinet, 12 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sunday, March 31, Senior Recital, Anna Steenson, cello, 2:30 p.m.., Sheslow Auditorium

April

Thursday, Apr. 4, Junior Recital, Seth Tack and Laurel Cramer, voice, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Saturday, Apr. 6, Greta Hammond, Junior Recital, mezzo-soprano, 12 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Saturday, Apr. 6, Senior Recital, Trevor Ross, tenor, 5 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Saturday, Apr. 6, Senior Recital, Erin Besser, Mezzo-Soprano, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sunday, Apr. 7, Horn Studio Recital, 12 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sunday, Apr. 7, Junior Recital, Brogan Kearney, Euphonium, 2:00 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sunday, Apr. 7, Brass Choir Concert, 5 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sunday, Apr. 7, Senior Recital, Alice Lind, Mezzo-Soprano, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Thursday, Apr. 11, Drake Alumni Recital: James Smith, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Friday, Apr. 12, Senior Recital, Paxton Gillespie, voice, 7:30 p.m, Sheslow Auditorium

Saturday, Apr. 13 Senior Recital, Maddie Sell, voice, 2:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Saturday, Apr. 13, Junior Recital, Brittany Mendoza and Jeremy Berdin, voice 5 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Saturday, Apr 13 Junior Recital, Fox Rhodvin and Samantha Worth, Musical Theatre voice, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sunday, Apr. 14, Senior Recital, Sam Chapin, voice, 2:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Sunday, Apr. 14, Nicholas Roth’s Piano Studio Concert, 5pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Sunday, Apr. 14, SNATS Opera Scenes, 7:30 p.m., Performing Arts Hall                                                 

Monday, Apr. 15, Flute Studio Recital, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Tuesday, Apr. 16, Junior Recital, Matthew and Michael Scott, saxophone and clarinet, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Tuesday, Apr. 16, Percussion Studio Recital, 7:30 p.m., Performing Arts Hall

Friday, Apr. 19, Guest Recital, Rose Bishop, Flute, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Friday, Apr. 19, Drake Jazz Ensemble I, Andrew Classen, director, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Saturday, Apr. 20 Senior Recital, Grace Sopko, soprano, 12 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Wednesday, Apr. 24, Combo Night featuring Drake Jazz combos, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sunday, Apr. 28, Masterclass with James Giles, piano, 7 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Monday, April 29:  Guest Recital, James Giles – Northwestern University, piano, on the Yamaha CFX concert grand; 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium; part of the Keys to Excellence Piano Series. For more information contact Professor Nicholas Roth at nicholas.roth@drake.edu.

Tuesday, Apr. 30, Drake Wind Symphony Concert, Robert Meunier, conductor, 7:30 p.m., Performing Arts Hall

May

Thursday, May 2, Symphonic Band Concert, Vince Kenney, conductor, 7:30 p.m., Performing Arts Hall

Sunday, May 5, Cavalcade of Choirs concert, featuring the Drake Choir, Chamber Choir, Drake University/Community Chorus, Aimee Beckmann-Collier, conductor; and Drake Chorale, Linda Vanderpool, conductor, as well as alumni of the Drake Choir, and the premiers of four commissioned pieces by Eriks Esenvalds, Jocelyn Hagen, Elaine Hagenberg, and John Armstrong. Sheslow Auditorium 3 p.m.

Tuesday, May 7, Drake Orchestra Concert, Akira Mori, conductor, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Wednesday, May 8. Jazz ll Ensemble Concert, Colin Young, Director, 7:30pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Tuesday, May 21, 4 p.m., Pre - International Tour Choir Concert in Sheslow 

 

Theatre Productions

Thursday, January 24 - Saturday, January 26
Little Women
Music by Jason Howland, Lyrics by Mindi Dickstein, Book by Allan Knee
Directed by Erin Horst and Adam Yankowy
 
7:30 p.m. (January 24 - 26) William S.E. Coleman Studio Theatre
For tickets and more information, please visit www.drake.edu/fineartsboxoffice/

 

Thursday, February 21 - Sunday, February 24
This is Our Youth and Time Stands Still
 
This is Our Youth is on 2/21 at 7:30 p.m., 2/23 at 7:30 p.m., and 2/24 at 2 p.m.
Directed by Emily Brown 
Time Stands Still  is on 2/22 at 7:30 p.m., 2/23 at 2 p.m., and 2/24 at 7:30 p.m.
Directed by Kale Sorbo
 
Willam S.E. Coleman Studio Theatre

For tickets and more information, please visit www.drake.edu/fineartsboxoffice/

Thursday, April 4 -Sunday, April 7
As You Like It
Written by William Shakespeare
Adapted and Directed by John Graham
 

7:30 p.m. (Apr 4-6), 2:00 p.m. (Apr 7) Performing Arts Hall                                   For tickets and more information, please visit www.drake.edu/fineartsboxoffice/

Thursday May 2 - Sunday May 5
Sunday on the Rocks
By Theresa Rebeck 
Directed by Adam Yankowy
 

7:30 p.m. (May 2-4), 2:00 p.m. (May 5) William S.E. Coleman Studio Theatre                       For tickets and more information, please visit www.drake.edu/fineartsboxoffice/

 

Harmon Fine Arts Center Box Office Hours:

Monday - Friday, 12 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. 
Saturday and Sunday, 12 p.m. - 4:00 p.m.
515-271-3841


Fine Arts News