Friends of Drake Arts

Skip Sub Menu

Art Exhibitions

Fri., Sep. 7 - Fri., Oct. 12

Richard Black: Visual World “Nothing by Chance”                                                                                                  Opening Reception will be Sept. 7 

Anderson Gallery Information

Hours:

Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday: 12:00-4:00 p.m.
Thursday: 12:00-8:00 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday: 12:00-4:00 p.m.

The Gallery is closed on Mondays.

All exhibitions are free and open to the public


Musical Performances

September

Thursday, Sept. 6, Masterclass with Derek Brown, 2pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Thursday, Sept. 6, Patty’s Place Jazz Series presents:  Derek Brown, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium, General admission charged, student rush tickets available

Wednesday, Sept. 12, Masterclass with Eric Ferring, tenor, 3pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Thursday, Sept. 13, Guest Recital with Drake alumni Eric Ferring, tenor, and Sean Galligan, baritone, with guest pianist Carl Pantle, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Friday, Sept. 21, Guest Flute Recital with Lisa Bost, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Sat., Sept. 22 and Sun. Sept. 23 - Des Moines Symphony Orchestra, Masterworks: Beethoven and Mahler’s ‘Titan.’ Sat. at 7:30 and Sun. at 2:30. Civic Center. General admission charged, Student Rush Tickets available.

Friday, Sept. 28, Jazz l and ll Ensembles, Andy Classen and Colin Young, Director, 7:30pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Friday, Sept. 28 Civic Music Association presents: Ramsey Lewis and Ann Hampton Callaway 7:30 p.m., Hoyt Sherman Place, general admission charged.

Saturday, Sept. 29, Guest Recital with Trio Menagerie, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

October

Thursday, Oct. 4, Turner Center Jazz Orchestra Presents: The Basie Legacy - Limited student rush tickets available, $20 for general admission, 7:30pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Friday, Oct. 5, Patty’s Place Jazz Series presents:  Geof Keezer, 7:30pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center, General admission charged, student rush tickets available

Sunday, Oct. 7, Drake Choir and Chamber Choir, Aimee Beckmann-Collier, conductor, and Drake Chorale, Linda Vanderpool, conductor, 3pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Sunday, Oct 7, Masterclass, Silvan Negrutiu, piano, 6pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Monday, Oct. 8,  Guest Recital, Silvan Negrutiu, Assistant Professor of Piano at Millikin University, piano, on the Yamaha CFX concert grand; 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium; part of the Keys to Excellence Piano Series. For more information contact Professor Nicholas Roth at nicholas.roth@drake.edu.

Wednesday, Oct. 10, Guest Recital, Ben Price, tuba, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Thursday, Oct. 18, Senior Recital, Audrey McGee, voice, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium

Friday, Oct. 19, Guest Euphonium Quintet, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Saturday, Oct. 20   Senior Recital, Kyle Klepel, Bassoon, 2:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium 

Saturday, Oct. 20, Drake Symphony Orchestra, Akira Mori, conductor, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Sunday, Oct. 21, Des Moines Community Orchestra Concert, 2pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Thursday, Oct. 25, Civic Music Association presents: Emanuel Ax, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium, general admission charged.

Friday, Oct. 26, Music Audition Day Concert, 2pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sat., Oct. 27 and Sun. Oct. 28 - Des Moines Symphony Orchestra, Masterworks: On the Town. Sat. at 7:30 and Sun. at 2:30. Civic Center. General admission charged, Student Rush Tickets available.

November

Friday, Nov. 2, Jazz l Ensemble, Andy Classen, Director, 7:30pm. Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Wednesday, Nov. 7, Faculty Chamber Music Recital, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Thursday, Nov. 8, Turner Center Jazz Orchestra Presents: TCJO Plays the Room - Limited student rush tickets available, $20 for general admission, 7:30pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Friday, Nov. 9, Music Audition Day Concert, 2pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Saturday, Nov. 10, Patty’s Place Jazz Series presents: Frank Basile, 7:30pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center, General admission charged, student rush tickets available

Saturday, Nov. 10-11, Nov. 10, 7:30; Nov 11, 3:00. Dona nobis pacem by Ralph Vaughan Williams, featuring all four Drake choral ensembles and a faculty/student orchestra, Aimee Beckmann-Collier, conductor. St. Francis of Assisi Parish. Tickets are $18 for non-students; $8 for students and can be obtained online at www.drake.edu/choralperformances or at the Drake Fine Arts Box Office, 515.271.2841

Thursday – Sunday, Nov. 15-18, Drake University Theatre Department Presents: Nice Work if You Can Get It, 7:30pm and 2pm on Sunday, Performing Arts Hall, Tickets are $8 for students, $10 for general admission.

Sat., Nov. 17 and Sun. Nov. 18 - Des Moines Symphony Orchestra, Masterworks: Bernstein’s famous 1943 Broadcast. Sat. at 7:30 and Sun. at 2:30. Civic Center. General admission charged, Student Rush Tickets available.

Monday, Nov. 19, Flute Studio Concert, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Monday, Nov. 26, Faculty Recital, Nicholas Roth, Professor of Piano at Drake University, piano, on the Yamaha CFX concert grand; 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium; part of the Keys to Excellence Piano Series. For more information contact Professor Nicholas Roth at nicholas.roth@drake.edu.

Thursday, Nov. 29, Recital, Lauren Taylor and Johnny Kroll, voice, 7:30pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Friday, Nov.30,  Drake University Honor Band Festival Concert I, featuring the Drake Wind Symphony, Robert Meunier, conductor, and Symphonic Band, Vincent Kenney, conductor, 7:30 p.m., Performing Arts Hall

December

Sat., Dec. 1 Drake University Honor Band Festival Concert II, featuring high school students from throughout Iowa performing as members of the Honors Wind Ensemble and Honors Concert band under the direction of nationally recognized guest conductors, 5 p.m., Performing Arts Hall

Saturday, Dec. 1,   Senior Recital, Amy Swanson, 5pm., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Saturday, Dec. 1,    Junior Recital, Riley Keough and Shea Malloy, voice, 7:30 p.m., Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Sun., Dec. 2,  Junior Recital, Eric Fredrickson and Jack Griffin, voice, 5 p.m. Sheslow Auditorium

Sat., Dec. 1-        Christmas Madrigal Dinners, featuring the Drake Chamber Choir, Aimee Beckmann-

Sun. Dec. 2          Collier, conductor. Saturday at 7 p.m., Sunday at 5 p.m., Olmsted Center. Tickets are $55 per person and all seats are reserved. Tickets will go on sale on Tuesday, November 14 until Tuesday, November 28, and are available online at: http://www.drake.edu/madrigaldinners/ or at the Drake Fine Arts Box Office (271-3841) Monday through Friday, noon to 6 p.m.

Tuesday, Dec. 4, Jazz ll Ensemble, Colin Young, Director, 7:30pm, Patty and Fred Turner Jazz Center

Wednesday, Dec. 5, Drake Symphony Orchestra Concert, Akira Mori, conductor, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Thursday, Dec. 6, Saxophone Studio Concert, 7:30pm, Sheslow Auditorium

Saturday, Dec. 8, Civic Music Association presents: Hot Club San Francisco, 7:30 p.m., Sheslow Auditorium, general admission charged.

 

Theatre Productions

Thurs., Oct. 4-Sun., Oct. 7
Theatre Durang-ed
An Evening of comedies by Christopher Durang
Directed by Michael Rothmayer

7:30 p.m. (Oct. 4-6), 2:00 p.m. (Oct. 7) Coleman Studio Theatre
For tickets and more information, please visit www.drake.edu/fineartsboxoffice/

Fri., Oct 26-Sun., Oct. 28
Student Theatre Showcase
Vices, by Melody DeRogatis; Stood Up, by Maria Gnoza; Hello Darkness my old friend, by Sue Wilding; First Aid, by Vic O'Bryant

7:30 p.m. (Oct 26-27), 2:00 p.m. (Oct 28) Coleman Studio Theatre                                                                   For tickets and more information, please visit www.drake.edu/fineartsboxoffice/

Fri., Nov 15-Sun., Nov. 18
Nice Work If You Can Get It
Music and lyrics by George Gershwin and Ira Gershwin; Book by Joe DiPietro                                                    Directed by Erin Horst

7:30 p.m. (Nov 15-17), 2:00 p.m. (Nov 18) Performing Arts Hall                                                                      For tickets and more information, please visit www.drake.edu/fineartsboxoffice/

 

Harmon Fine Arts Center Box Office Hours:

Monday - Friday, noon - 6:00 p.m. 
Saturday and Sunday, noon - 4:00 p.m.
515-271-3841


Fine Arts Events
no events have been scheduled
Fine Arts News