Faculty Senate

Academic Freedom and Tenure Committee

(three-year terms)

The Committee shall be the adjudicatory body for cases and controversies relating to academic freedom and tenure which are not resolved through informal procedures or through regular administrative channels. The Committee shall have seven regular members and seven alternates. Members of the Committee and alternates shall be members of the Faculty of Instruction with tenure. The principle of broad representation shall be honored. The Committee shall elect the Committee Chair annually in December. Alternates shall be called to serve on the Committee in order of preference by the electing authority. If a member and his/her alternate are both unable to serve, the electing authority will select from among other alternates, giving preference to the one whose term will expire the same year as the member in whose place the alternate will serve. Committee members and alternates, except those selected for short terms to fill vacancies and first elected, shall serve three-year terms. The terms of office shall be staggered on a basis of three-two-two with annual election. (Academic Charter)

1. Gholam Mirafzal (AS, 10)
2. David Wright (JO, 10)

3. Sally Beisser (ED, 12)
4. Rahul Parsa (BN, 12)
5.  (LW, 12)
6. Sally Frank (LW, 11) Chair
7. Chuck Phillips (PH, 10)


1. Janet Keefer (JO, 11)
2. Brad Meyer (BN, 10)
3. (AS, 12)
4. Jane DeWitt (PH, 11)
5. Laurie Dore (LW, 12)
6. Jan Walker (ED, 12)
Elizabeth Robertson (AS, 11)