Skip Sub Menu

Iowa Character Awards

The Ray Center annually recognizes Iowans who show the Six Pillars of CHARACTER COUNTS!: trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring, and good citizenship.Since 2005, we have recognized more than 100 Iowans for showing good character. 

How to nominate:  

  1. Click here to go to the nomination form.  Tell us who you are nominating.

  2. Complete 3 questions:

1.  Introduce us to your nominee.

2.  How has your nominee impacted your life and/or the lives of others?

3.  In what ways do you feel the nominee demonstrates the Six Pillars of Character? 

The word limit is 300 words for each section.

3.  Attach letters of recommendation or other supporting materials.

Deadline: Sunday, May 3, 2020

Award Categories: 

  • Adult Citizen of Character
  • Youth Citizen of Character
  • Organization/Business of Character
  • Student Team/Organization of Character
  • Community of Character
  • Educator of Character
  • School of Character
  • Jim Hallihan Pursuing Victory with Honor Award (athletic team or organization)


The 2020 Iowa Character Awards are presented by:  

    Hy-Vee logo

   Partner logo