Skip Sub Menu

Iowa Character Awards

The Ray Center annually recognizes Iowans who show the Six Pillars of CHARACTER COUNTS!: trustworthiness, respect, responsibility, fairness, caring, and good citizenship.  

Since 2005, we have recognized more than 100 Iowans for showing good character. 

Get started on your nomination form today!  2019 Iowa Character Awards Nomination form


Tips for completing your nomination form.


The 2019 Iowa Character Awards are presented by:  

    Hy-Vee logo

   Partner logo


Congratulations to the 2018 Iowa Character Award recipients:

Robert D. Ray Pillar of Character Award:  Mike Gartner, Des Moines (video)

Aaron Eilerts Award:  Trinity Hopkey, Cumming (video)

Partner of the Year:  MidAmerican Energy (video)

Character Champion: Jay Parker, Urbandale (video)

Community of Character:  Aplington-Parkersburg (video)

Pursuing Victory with Honor Award:  Iowa High School Dance and Drill Team Association (video)

Business/Organization of Character:  Boone Hope Foundation, Boone (video)

Adult Citizen of Character:  George Belistos, Ames (video)

Youth Citizen of Character:  Zyrianna Cerna-Koehrsen, Iowa Falls (video)

School of Character: Denison Elementary/Broadway Schools (video)

Educator of Character:  Kevin Johnson, Lynnville-Sully (video)

School Team/ Organization of Character:  Mentors in Violence Prevention (Cedar Rapids Kennedy), Cedar Rapids (video)