Skip Sub Menu

Office of the Registrar

The Office of Registrar is responsible for the accuracy and integrity of all student records.

Included in our responsibilities are:

 

Full Academic Calendar

Important Dates - Drake Online Graduate Programs

Important Dates - Law School

All Other Important Dates - see following section

 

2019-2020 Important Dates

(Other Than the Law School and Drake Online Graduate Programs)
Sun Aug 25 Last day to add or drop a fall full-term class online
Mon Aug 26 Start of fall semester
Fri Aug 30 Last day to add a fall full-term class
Fri Aug 30 Summer term final grades due by 10:00am*
Mon Sep 2 Labor Day (university closed; classes do not meet)
Tue Sep 3 Midterm grading opens (due Mon, Oct 21, 10:00am)
Mon Sep 9 Last day to drop a fall full-term class without a "W" on transcript
Tue Oct 1 Spring 2020 schedule of classes available
Mon-Tue Oct 14-15 Fall break
Mon Oct 14 Graduation applications due for anticipated December graduates
Wed Oct 16 Fall semester midpoint
Mon Oct 21 Fall semester midterm grades due by 10:00am
Mon Oct 28 Deadline by which field-of-study changes must be made to be considered for spring registration
Mon Oct 28 Last day to drop a fall full-term class
Fri Nov 1 Final grading opens (due Wed, Dec 18, 10:00am)
Mon Nov 4 Spring 2020 registration begins (see registration page for detailed schedule)
Mon Nov 18 Field-of-study restrictions removed from set of restricted courses
Wed Nov 20 Spring 2020 registration opens for non-degree-seeking students
Wed Nov 13 Waitlist automation begins for spring 2020 classes
Tue Nov 26 Thanksgiving break begins after evening classes
Wed-Fri Nov 27-29 University closed
Mon Dec 2 University reopens; classes resume
Fri Dec 6 Day free for study
Mon-Fri Dec 9-13 Final evaluations
Fri Dec 13 End of fall semester
Sat Dec 14 Commencement
Wed Dec 18 Fall semester final grades due by 10:00am
Mon Dec 23 Winter break begins (University closed)
Mon Jan 6
University reopens
Mon Jan 6 J-term begins
Tue Jan 7 Last day to add or drop a J-term class (without a "W" on transcript)
Wed Jan 15 Last day to drop a J-term class (with a "W" on transcript)
Mon Jan 20 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (university closed; classes do not meet)
Wed Jan 22 Waitlist automation for spring 2020 classes stops
Fri Jan 24 J-term ends
Sun Jan 26 Last day to add or drop a spring full-term class online
Mon Jan 27 Start of spring semester
Fri Jan 31 Last day to add a spring full-term class
Fri Jan 31 Midterm grading opens (due Wed, Mar 25, 10:00am)
Mon Feb 3 Deadline by which December graduates' requirements must be met to be considered a December graduate
Wed Feb 5 J-term final grades due by 10:00am
Fri Feb 7 Last day to drop a fall full-term class without a "W" on transcript
Fri Feb 14 Graduation applications due for anticipated May and August graduates
Tue Mar 3 Summer 2020, Fall 2020, and 2021 J-term schedule of classes available
Fri Mar 13 Spring semester midpoint
Mon-Fri Mar 16-20 Spring break
Wed Mar 25 Midterm grades due by 10:00am
Mon Mar 30 Deadline by which field-of-study changes must be made to be considered for summer/fall/J-term registration
Wed Apr 1 Last day to drop a spring full-term class
Mon Apr 6 Final grading opens (due Wed, May 20, 10:00am)
Mon Apr 6 Summer 2020, fall 2020, and 2021 J-term registration begins (see page for detailed schedule)
Mon Apr 20
Field-of-study restrictions removed from set of restricted courses
Wed Apr 22
Summer 2020, fall 2020, and 2021 J-term registration opens for non-degree-seeking students
Wed Apr 22
Waitlist automation begins
Wed-Sat Apr 22-25 Drake Relays
Fri Apr 24 Undergraduate classes dismissed at 1:50pm
Fri May 8 Day free for study
Mon-Fri May 11-15 Final evaluations
Fri May 15 End of spring semester
Sat May 16 CPHS Doctoral Hooding and Commencement Ceremony
Sun May 17 Commencement
Wed May 20 Spring final grades due by 10:00am

*Final grades for summer courses are based on the end date of the course; however, the latest date by which summer grades can be submitted is Aug 30.  See Section 2.135 of the Faculty Manual for more details.

 

2019-2020 Important Dates -

Drake Online Graduate Programs
Mon Aug 19 Courses open in Blackboard (Preview Week begins)
Mon Aug 19 Last day to add first fall six-week session class online
Sun Aug 25 Last day to drop first fall six-week session class online
Mon Aug 26 Start of first fall six-week session classes
Tue Aug 27 Last day to drop first fall six-week session class with a full refund
Wed Aug 28 Last day to drop first fall six-week session class without a W
Mon Sep 16 Last day to drop first fall six-week session class without extenuating circumstances
Tue Oct 1 Spring 2020 schedule of classes available
Sun Oct 6 End of first fall six-week session classes
Fri Oct 11 First fall six-week session final grades due
Mon-Tue Oct 14-15 Fall break
Mon Oct 14 Courses open in Blackboard (Preview Week begins)
Mon Oct 14 Last day to add second fall six-week session class online
Mon Oct 14 Graduation applications due for anticipated December graduates
Sun Oct 20 Last day to drop second fall six-week class onlne
Mon Oct 21 Start of second fall six-week session classes
Tue Oct 22 Last day to drop a second fall six-week session class with a full refund
Wed Oct 23 Last day to drop second fall six-week session class without a W
Mon Nov4 Spring 2020 registration begins (see registration page for detailed schedule)
Mon Nov 11 Last day to drop a second fall six-week session class without extenuating circumstances
Wed-Fri Nov 27-29 University closed
Sun Dec 1 End of second fall six-week session classes
Fri Dec 6 Second fall six-week session final grades due
Sat Dec 14 Commencement
Mon Dec 23 Winter break begins (University closed)
Thurs Jan 2 University reopens
Mon Jan 20 Last day to add first spring six-week session class online
Mon Jan 27 Start of first spring six-week session classes
Tue Jan 28 Last day to drop first spring six-week session class with a full refund
Wed Jan 29 Last day to drop first spring six-week session class without a W
Mon Feb 3 Deadline by which December graduates' requirements must be met to be considered a December graduate
Fri Feb 14 Graduation applications due for anticipated May and August graduates
Mon Feb 17 Last day to drop a first spring six-week session class
Tue Mar 3 Summer 2020, Fall 2020, and 2021 J-term schedule of classes available
Sun Mar 8 End of first spring six-week session classes
Fri Mar 13 First spring six-week session final grades due
Mon Mar 16 Last day to add second spring six-week session class online
Sun Mar 22 Last day to drop second spring six-week session class online
Mon Mar 23 Start of second spring six-week session classes
Tue Mar 24 Last day to drop second spring six-week session class with a full refund
Wed Mar 25 Last day to drop first spring six-week session class without a W
Mon Apr 6 Summer and fall 2020 registration begins (see page for detailed schedule)
Mon Apr 13 Last day to drop a second spring six-week session class
Sun May 3 End of second spring six-week session classes
Fri May 8 Second spring six-week session final grades due
Sun May 17 Commencement

*Final grades for summer courses are based on the end date of the course; however, the latest date by which summer grades can be submitted is Aug 30.  See Section 2.135 of the Faculty Manual for more details.

 

 

University News