Skip Sub Menu

Office of the Registrar

The Office of Registrar is responsible for the accuracy and integrity of all student records.

Included in our responsibilities are:

2018-2019 Important Dates (Except Law School)

Mon Aug 20 Last day to add first fall six-week session class online
Fri Aug 24 Summer term final grades due by 10:00am*
Sun Aug 26 Last day to add or drop a fall full-term class online
Mon Aug 27
Start of fall semester
Mon Aug 27 Start of first fall six-week session classes
Tue Aug 28 Last day to drop first fall six-week session class with a full refund
Wed Aug 29 Last day to drop first fall six-week session class without a W
Fri Aug 31
Last day to add a fall full-term class
Mon Sept 3
Labor Day (university closed; classes do not meet)
Tue Sept 4 Midterm grading opens (due Mon, Oct 22, 10:00am)
Mon Sept 10
Last day to drop a fall full-term class without a "W" on transcript
Mon Sept 17 First fall six-week session midpoint
Mon Sept 17 Last day to drop a first fall six-week session class
Tue Oct 2
Spring 2019 schedule of classes available
Sun Oct 7 End of first fall six-week session classes
Fri Oct 12 First fall six-week session final grades due
Mon-Tue Oct 15-16
Fall break
Mon Oct 15 Last day to add second six-week session class online
Mon Oct 15 Graduation applications due for anticipated December graduates
Wed Oct 17
Fall semester midpoint
Mon Oct 22 Start of second fall six-week session classes
Mon Oct 22 Fall semester midterm grades due by 10:00am
Mon Oct 22 Deadline by which field-of-study changes must be made to be considered for spring registration
Tue Oct 23 Last day to drop a second fall six-week session class with a full refund
Wed Oct 24 Last day to drop second fall six-week session class without a W
Wed Oct 24 Last day to drop a fall full-term class
Mon Oct 29
Spring 2019 registration begins (see registration page for detailed schedule)
Thurs Nov 1
Final grading opens (due Wed, Dec 19, 10:00am)
Mon Nov 12 Second fall six-week session midpoint
Mon Nov 12 Last day to drop a second fall six-week session class
Mon Nov 12 Field-of-study restrictions removed from set of restricted courses
Wed Nov 14 Spring 2019 registration opens for non-degree-seeking students
Wed Nov 14 Waitlist automation begins for spring 2019 classes
Tue Nov 20 Thanksgiving break begins after evening classes
Wed-Fri Nov 21-25 University closed
Mon Nov 26
University reopens; classes resume
Sun Dec 2 End of second fall six-week session classes
Fri Dec 7
Day free for study
Fri Dec 7 Second fall six-week session final grades due
Mon-Fri Dec 10-14
Final evaluations
Fri Dec 14 End of fall semester
Sat Dec 15 Commencement
Wed Dec 19
Fall semester final grades due by 10:00am
Mon Dec 24 Winter break begins (University closed)
Wed Jan 2
University reopens
Mon Jan 7
J-term begins
Tue Jan 8
Last day to add or drop a J-term class
Mon Jan 21
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (university closed; classes do not meet)
Mon Jan 21 Last day to add first spring six-week session class online
Wed Jan 23
Waitlist automation for spring 2019 classes stops
Fri Jan 25 J-term ends
Sun Jan 27 Last day to add or drop a spring full-term class online
Mon Jan 28 Start of spring semester
Mon Jan 28 Start of first spring six-week session classes
Tue Jan 29 Last day to drop first spring six-week session class with a full refund
Wed Jan 30 Last day to drop first spring six-week session class without a W
Fri Feb 1 Last day to add a spring full-term class
Fri Feb 1 Midterm grading opens (due Mon, Mar 25, 10:00am)
Mon Feb 4
Deadline by which December graduates' requirements must be met to be considered a December graduate
Wed Feb 6
J-term final grades due by 10:00am
Fri Feb 8 Last day to drop a fall full-term class without a "W" on transcript
Fri Feb 15 Graduation applications due for anticipated May and August graduates
Mon Feb 18 First spring six-week session midpoint
Mon Feb 18 Last day to drop a first spring six-week session class
Tue Mar 5
Summer 2019, Fall 2019, and 2020 J-term schedule of classes available
Sun Mar 10 End of first spring six-week session classes
Fri Mar 15 First spring six-week session final grades due
Fri Mar 15 Spring semester midpoint
Mon-Fri Mar 18-22 Spring break
Mon Mar 18 Last day to add second spring six-week session class online
Sun Mar 24 Last day to drop second spring six-week session class online
Mon Mar 25 Start of second spring six-week session classes
Mon Mar 25 Midterm grades due by 10:00am
Mon Mar 25
Deadline by which field-of-study changes must be made to be considered for summer/fall/J-term registration
Tue Mar 26 Last day to drop second spring six-week session class with a full refund
Wed Mar 27 Last day to drop first spring six-week session class without a W
Wed Mar 27 Last day to drop a spring full-term class
Mon Apr 1
Final grading opens (due Wed, May 22, 10:00am)
Mon Apr 1
Summer 2019, fall 2019, and 2020 J-term registration begins (see page for detailed schedule)
Mon Apr 15 Second spring six-week session midpoint
Mon Apr 15 Last day to drop a second spring six-week session class
Mon Apr 15 Field-of-study restrictions removed from set of restricted courses
Wed Apr 17
Summer 2019, fall 2019, and 2020 J-term registration opens for non-degree-seeking students
Wed Apr 17
Waitlist automation begins
Wed-Sat Apr 24-Apr 27
Drake Relays
Fri Apr 26 Undergraduate classes dismissed at 1:50pm
Sun May 5 End of second spring six-week session classes
Fri May 10
Day free for study
Fri May 10 Second spring six-week session final grades due
Mon-Fri May 13-17
Final evaluations
Fri May 17 End of spring semester
Sat May 18 Pharmacy hooding ceremony
Sun May 19
Commencement
Wed May 22
Spring final grades due by 10:00am

*Final grades for summer courses are based on the end date of the course; however, the latest date by which summer grades can be submitted Aug 24.  See Section 2.135 of the Faculty Manual for more details.

Full Academic Calendar

University News