Drake Law Review Awards

The Drake Law Review publishes articles, notes, and lectures that are academically and practically relevant to professors, judges, practitioners, and law students.

Each year, the Drake Law Review presents awards at the Drake Law Review Dinner recognizing accomplishments during the past year.

H.G. Cartwright Law Review Award

This annual cash award is presented to the student who submits the best Note to the Drake Law Review during the year. The award is named in honor of the late Harold G. Cartwright, LW’25, who participated actively in founding the Law Review and who was a loyal supporter of Drake Law School.

2017 recipient:
Olivia Kilgore

Jeff Gilbert Memorial Writing Award

This award is named in honor of the late Jeffrey S. Gilbert, who was named to the 1985-86 editorial board shortly before his untimely death in 1985. The award is presented to the junior staff member who has made the greatest contribution to the success of the Drake Law Review.

2017 recipient:
Samantha Nordstrom

Honorable mention:
Dillon Malone

Morris A. Haft Award

This annual award, established by Howard S. Haft, LW’53, in honor of his father Morris A. Haft, Esq., recognizes the role of the Drake Law Review in fostering the ardent study and scholarly discussion of law that Morris A. Haft personally championed and exemplified in his life and practice. The award is given to the graduating member of the Law Review staff or editorial board who, through individual effort, service, and leadership, has contributed most to the overall success and quality of the Law Review during the student’s membership.

2017 recipient:
Tucker Levis

Friend of the Law Review

This award is presented to the Drake Law School faculty or staff member whose contributions toward the Drake Law Review and support of the students have made the Law Review a success this year.

2017 recipient:
John D. Edwards

Law School Events
March 23, 2018
08:00 AM - 03:30 PM
March 23, 2018
12:00 PM - 01:00 PM
March 23, 2018
06:00 PM - 09:00 PM
Law School News
March 12, 2018
Drake Law School is pleased to announce alumni award winners. Karen Shaff, LW’79, was named the 2018 Alumna of the Year; Kristina Stanger, LW’05, was named the 2018 Recent Alumna of the Year; and Robert Oberbillig, LA'56, LW'58, received the Distinguished Public Service Award.