Supreme Court Celebration

Join us for a celebration of Drake Law School's long-standing relationship with the Iowa Supreme Court!

Drake Law School's annual Supreme Court Celebration celebrates the history of academic excellence, leadership, and service at Drake Law and honors the Law School's symbiotic relationship with the Iowa Supreme Court.

81st Annual Supreme Court Celebration

Thank you to those who attended 80th Supreme Court Celebration events. Check back for details about the 81st Supreme Court Celebration in spring 2018!

Annual Events

1L Breakfast with Iowa Supreme Court

The three-day event kicks off with Drake Law first-year students enjoying breakfast and small group Q&A sessions with justices of the Iowa Supreme Court.

The justices also hear oral arguments in the Neal & Bea Smith Law Center courtroom as part of a live session of the Iowa Supreme Court.

Student Receptions

Various receptions are held honoring the Drake Journal of Agricultural Law, the Drake Law Review, Student Bar Association, and Moot Court. Students celebrate the past year's accomplishments and recognize award recipients.

Supreme Court Competition

Outstanding advocates from Drake Law School compete each year in the Supreme Court Competition, which consists of writing and arguing an appellate brief.

Four finalists are selected to present final arguments in the Iowa Judicial Branch Building before the justices of the Iowa Supreme Court, who then determine the winner.

Supreme Court Celebration Banquet

The event concludes with the Supreme Court Celebration Banquet. More than 300 alumni, faculty, staff, students, justices of the Iowa Supreme Court, and other dignitaries attend the event, which features a keynote speaker, presentation of student and alumni awards, and more.

See a list of past Supreme Court Celebration Banquet keynote speakers.

Awards and Recognition

2017 Alumni of the Year
Pat Houlihan, LW’82
Dan Jacobi, LA'76, LW’86

2017 Recent Alumni of the Year (new this year!)
Nate Boulton, LW’05, GR'05
Kathleen Law, LW’05

Learn more about the 2017 alumni award winners.

Past awards:

See past award recipients:


View photos from the 80th Supreme Court Celebration:

See also a list of past Supreme Court Celebration programs.

Law School Events
October 17, 2017
October 20, 2017
01:00 PM - 05:00 PM
Law School News
October 6, 2017
Justin Driver, Harry N. Wyatt Professor of Law at the University of Chicago Law School, will deliver a lecture titled "Free Speech in Public Schools: From Black Armbands to BONG HiTS FOR JESUS" on Oct. 26.