Skip Sub Menu

David S. Walker Profile

Professor Emeritus of Law

Areas of Expertise

Corporate and Business Law, Securities Regulation, Nonprofit Organizations


LL.B – University of Virginia School of Law, Virginia Law Review
BS – Yale University, cum laude

Professional Experience

Drake Professor, 1975-2014
Dean, Drake Law School, 1987-1996, 2003-2008
Director of Litigation, Legal Services of Indianapolis
Assistant Professor, University of Akron School of Law

Selected Publications

  • A Fair and Impartial Trial Free From Racial Discrimination Will Require An Across-The-Board Approach: Systemic Reforms Still Needed in Light of the "Other" Racial Justice Jury Trial Rulings in State v. Veal & State v. Williams, Drake Discourse Online Journal (2021).
  • Achieving Fair Cross-Sections on Iowa Juries in the Post-Plain World: The Lilly-Veal-Williams Trilogy, 68 Drake L. Rev. 99 (2020).
  • A Consideration of an LLC for a 501(c)(3) Nonprofit Organization, 38 William Mitchell L. Rev. 627 (2012).
  • Limited Liability Companies under the Revised Iowa Limited Liability Company Act, 2010 Business Law Manual (3d ed. Iowa State Bar Association 2010).
  • Teaching and Learning Professionalism in the First Year, with Some Thoughts on the Role of the Dean, 40 U. Toledo L. Rev. 421 (2009).

Significant Accomplishments

  • National Conference of Commissioners on Uniform State Laws (ULC), 1992-present; Member, ULC Scope and Program Committee (2011-2013), Executive Committee (2013-present)
  • Member, ULC Drafting Committees for the Uniform Limited Partnership Act, Revised Uniform Limited Liability Company Act (also Chair), Model Protection of Charitable Assets Act, Harmonization of Business Entity Acts, Model Entity Transactions Act, and Series for Unincorporated Business Entities Acts
  • Iowa State Bar Association Business Law Section; Member, 1997-2013; Section Chair, 2003-2004; Member, Section Council, 2009-2012; Chair, Corporate Laws Committee, 2009-Present
  • Legal Redress Committee, NAACP Des Moines Branch - Co-chair (2012-Present)
  • Chair, Iowa Supreme Court Long Range Planning Implementation Committee (1996-97)
  • Iowa State Bar Association President's Award (2004)
Law School Calendar 
Law School News