Sport Clubs

Recreational or competitive, these clubs are created to further interest in a particular sport and are recognized by the University. Drake students, faculty and staff are welcome to participate. All sport clubs are initiated and run by students.

Sport Clubs:

Club Member Info


Sport clubs allow you to compete at a high level while representing Drake University throughout the state, region, and nation. If you would like more information about existing sport clubs, or would like to start a new sport club, contact Lisa Murphy at lisa.murphy@drake.edu or 515-271-4710.

Triathlon Club
Practice: TBD
Seasons: Fall/Winter/Spring
Contact: Matthew Helmerichs matthew.helmerichs@drake.edu

draketriathlon@gmail.com

Women’s Soccer Club
Women's Club soccer is a group of girls who want to play soccer past the high school and intramural level.  We travel and compete against other collegiate teams (including Iowa State, Iowa, UNI, Bradley, Augustana, Grandview, and Creighton).  Practices are held three times a week.  Joining the team is a great way to meet girls with similar interests and to share the love of the game!
Seasons: Fall and Spring
Contact: Brenna Paukert, brenna.paukert@drake.edu

Women’s Volleyball Club
Seasons: Fall/Winter/Spring
Contact: Stephanie Igielski: drakeclubvb@yahoo.com

Coed Tennis
Drake Tennis Club meets twice a week and provides students of all skill levels an opportunity to play the sport. During practice members play a variety of games as well as matches. More competitive players can participate in ladder matches or play against other colleges. Members must bring their own racquets.
Membership Fees: $25 per year or $15 per semester
Practice: Monday and Wednesday 7:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m.
Season: Fall/Winter/Spring
Contact: Austin Brandes austin.brandes@drake.edu
Jessica Seadler jessica.seadler@drake.edu

Men’s Ultimate Frisbee Club
Seasons: Fall/Winter/Spring
Contact: Daniel Hansen, daniel.hansen@drake.edu

Alex Stumphauzer  stumpman95@aim.com

Women's Ultimate Club
Season: Fall/Spring
Contact: Cassandra Doody cassandra.doody@drake.edu
Grace Boatman grace.boatman@drake.edu

Men’s Lacrosse Club
The Drake University Lacrosse team was recognized as an official program by Drake University during the spring of 2010. However, movements to establish the team have been in effect since the fall of 2007. The team will had their first full season of competition starting in the fall and spring of 2010-2011. Currently, Drake Lacrosse has over 25 members with at least half of them being new to the sport within the last year. Practices are held weekly throughout both the spring and fall semesters and are held on the field to the right of the Tennis Center or in the Field House. We also carry some extra sticks and helmets for those who are interested but have no equipment. The time commitment to play on the team can be as much or as little as you want and since there are no membership dues it is very easy to get started.
Contact: Sam Laden,  samuel.laden@drake.edu

Men's Soccer
Seasons:
Fall and Spring
Contact: Connor Hildebrandt dmsc.1.president@gmail.com

Floor Hockey
Seasons: Fall and Spring
Contact: Sean Kolodziej sean.kolodziej@drake.edu

Women's Lacrosse

Seasons:  Fall and Spring

Contact:  Kelly Lorton kelly.lorton@drake.edu

Today at Drake
no events have been scheduled
University News
July 27, 2015
The Ray Center, formerly known as Character Counts in Iowa, will issue its 2015 Robert D. Ray Pillar of Character Award to Suku Radia, President and CEO of Bankers Trust, and Rich Willis, dealer principal at Willis Auto Campus.
×