Skip Sub Menu

National Advisory Council

The National Advisory Council (NAC) for the College of Arts and Sciences provides a way to engage alumni across the globe and broaden communication among the College, its alumni, and other friends.

The NAC meets twice each year, and provides counsel to the College regarding objectives, strategies, goals, problems, and opportunities; develops recommendations on the priority needs of the College as requested by the Dean; and assists with the recruitment of students and alumni and development efforts.

Current members

Robert Palmer, Chair
LPS 2010, JD 2014
Director of Government Affairs and General Counsel
Iowa League of Cities, Des Moines, IA

Rachel Burns
LPS/Public Relations 2008
Deputy Director
America's Service Commissions, Des Moines, IA

Eric Carlson

Darren Fife
Environmental Science 2006
Barker Lemar Engineering, West Des Moines, IA

Danielle Foster-Smith
English 1997
Vice President, Legan and General Counsel
Ruan, Des Moines, IA

Madeline Goebel
International Relations, 2016
Director of Iowa Hunger Summit & Community Outreach
World Food Prize, Des Moines, IA

James Holsapple
Physics 1980
Chief, Department of Neurosurgery and Professor and Chairman of Neurosurgery
Boston University School of Medicine, Boston, MA

Richard Hunsaker
Politics/International Relations 1988, Graduate 1990
Executive Direction
Region XII Council of Governments, Des Moines, IA

Mark Jarrett
Physics 1984
Six Sigma specialist in engineering - aerospace division
Honeywell, Minneapolis, MN

Natalie Larson
Psychology and Sociology 2015

Wilson (Wil) Lewis II
Sociology 1996
Senior Vice President, Diversity and Inclusion
Bank of America, Chicago, IL

Pete Lovell

Environmental Science, Biology 2002
Project Scientist/GIS Specialist
HR Green, Inc., Des Moines, IA 

Sasha Muir Kamper
Mathematics 1991
Sr. Securities Analyst—Private Placements
Principal Global Investors, Des Moines, IA

Tami Byram Mahl
Political Science, Music 1986
Davenport, IA

Julie Mulholland
Biology 1995
Senior Manager
Oracle, Westminster, CO

Denise Rathman
International Relations 1988
Executive Director
National Assocation of Social Workers, Des Moines, IA

Andy Poppen, Friends of Drake Arts chair
Graphic Design, Music 2010
RDG Planning & Design
Des Moines, IA

Dan Wolter
Politics 1993
Des Moines, IA

Drake Staff

Gesine Gerhard
Dean, College of Arts & Sciences 

Heidi Sleister
Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives, College of Arts & Sciences

Natalie Bayer
Associate Dean of Student Affairs, College of Arts & Sciences

Doug Lampe
Major Gift Officer

A&S Calendar 
A&S News