Skip Sub Menu

Fellowships & Scholarships

Summer Fellowships

The summer research program organized by DUSCI engages undergraduates in full-time research for eight weeks and provides professional development opportunities. Each summer, the program supports six to ten fellowships for eight weeks of full-time research in June and July. Fellowships are awarded on a competitive basis and provide students with a summer stipend. Activities supported and organized by DUSCI during the summer include field trips, professional development opportunities, weekly research meetings, and a final research presentation by participants.


The Kelli Harl Wright Endowed Scholarship
Provides financial support to a student or students who should be majoring in Chemistry with a preference for students who also pursuing Business coursework as an emphasis or minor. Kelli Harl Wright graduated from Drake in 1998 with a Bachelors of Science in Chemistry. She furthered her education at the University of Illinois to pursue her Masters of Science in Chemistry. After receiving her Master's degree in 2000, she has been residing in New Jersey with her husband, also a chemist, along with her two sons, while working full-time for ExxonMobil Corporation.

The Dr. William Homer and Florence T. Coppock Chemistry Research Award
is awarded annually to a junior student demonstrating enthusiasm for and productivity in chemistry research. Dr. Coppock began his tenure at Drake as the Head of the Chemistry Department during which time Harvey Ingham was built. He remained in that position for over 25 years until his death in 1976.

The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program
The Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program was established in 1986 and is considered the most prestigious award in the United States to undergraduates in mathematics, natural sciences, and engineering. The award honors the excellence demonstrated by our students in the sciences as well as the university. Professor Mirafzal is the Drake faculty representative for the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship in Sciences. The role of the faculty representative is to serve as a liaison between the institution and the foundation, working closely with student candidates on their award applications. Universities are allowed to nominate only four undergraduate students each year.

The following Drake students have been the recipients and honorable mentions of this prestigious award:

2019 Winner

Lorien MacEnulty, Physics, Journalism, Math (Winners)
Colton Sleister, Chemistry, BCMB, Math (Winners)

2018 Winner

Shannon Herzog, Junior, BCMB, and Chemistry (Winner)
Colton Sleister, Sophomore, Chemistry, BCMB, Math (Honorable Mention)

2017 Winner

Sarah Mann, Junior, BCMB (Honorable Mention)
Daniel Deeter, Junior, Physics, and Math (Honorable Mention)

2016 Winners:

Paige Diamond, Junior, BCMB, and Chemistry (Winner)
Joel Venzke, Junior, Math, Physics and Computer Science (Honorable Mention)
Joshua Cain, Junior, Psychology (Honorable Mention)
2015 Winner:  Robert Sterner, Junior, BCMB, and Chemistry (Winner)
2014 Winners:

Robert Sterner, Sophomore, BCMB, and Chemistry(Winner)
John Emmons, Junior, CS, Math, and Physics (Winner)

2013 Winners: Adam Riesselman, Junior, BCMB, and Chemistry (Winner)
John Emmons, Sophomore, CS, Math, and Physics (Winner)
Zachary Kadow, Junior, BCMB, and Chemistry (Honorable Mention)
2012 Winner: Ethan Secor, Junior, Chemistry, and Physics (Winner)
2011 Winner: Rachel Barkley, Junior, BCMB, and Chemistry (Winner)
Ethan Secor, Junior, Chemistry, and Physics (Honorable Mention)
2009 Winner: Siva Kasinathan, Junior, BCMB and Pharmaceutical Sciences (Winner)
2003 Winner: Kavitha Pundi, Junior, Physics (Winner)
2001 Winner: Christopher Fenell, Junior, Chemistry (Winner)


A&S News