Skip Sub Menu


Drake Law School awards more than $6 million annually in scholarship assistance.

Scholarships are only offered to full-time students enrolled in the J.D. program. Most scholarships are renewable for all three years based on academic achievement.

Exceptional Scholarships

Opperman Scholar Program

The Opperman Scholar Program was endowed by a gift from Dwight D. Opperman, LW'51, and provides up to three full-tuition scholarships for outstanding entering students each year. In addition, the program provides an annual stipend in the amount of $10,000.

Fleck Scholar Program

The Fleck Scholar Program was endowed by a gift from Sheldon T. and Terry K. Fleck and provides one full-tuition scholarship for outstanding entering students who demonstrate financial need each year. In addition, the program provides an annual stipend in the amount of $10,000. 

Learn more about the Opperman and Fleck Scholar Programs.

AMTA Mock Trial and ACMA Moot Court Scholarships

Students designated as All-American Attorneys or All-American Mediators at any of the American Mock Trial Association national tournaments or as All-American Attorneys at the American Collegiate Moot Court Association national tournament who are admitted to and enrolled full-time at Drake Law School will receive a minimum scholarship in the amount of $6,000.

These scholarship awards are renewable for the second and third year of law school provided the student meets the academic renewal requirements.

Public Service Scholarships

Drake offers up to two full-tuition Public Service Scholarships each year, known as the Justice Chester Cole Public Service Scholarship, to entering students who exhibit an extraordinary history of public service work and plan to continue that commitment during and after law school.

Public Service Scholars will be included in a program of activities designed to encourage them to explore the wide variety of public service career opportunities.

The priority application deadline for incoming students is March 15.

Learn more about the Public Service Scholarship Program.

Joseph H. Morris Scholarship

The Joseph H. Memorial Fund was established in 1976 to assist financially needy students with disabilities. Each year, this fund provides scholarships that Drake Law students can use for tuition and room and board charges. Consideration is also given for books and supplies, tutoring, social equipment, and other items if the applicant's account is paid in full.

The number and amount of awards given will vary each year, depending upon the earnings of the fund. Morris Scholarships are only available to students with documented disabilities or to fund capital equipment of facility projects used directly by students with disabilities. Eligible students must be certified by the University's Coordinator of Student Disability Services.

Joseph H. Morris Scholarship Form

General Law School Scholarships

The Law School's general scholarship awards are based on a student's undergraduate academic performance and LSAT score. The size of the general scholarship awards varies from year to year, but traditionally awards have ranged from 15 percent to 80 percent of tuition.

These one-year scholarships are renewable if the student meets the required academic renewal standards. All admitted students are automatically considered for general scholarship awards.

In additional to a variety of other scholarships, Drake Law School also offers a number of general law school scholarships that are awarded for the entire first year. These scholarships are eligible for full or partial renewal in the second and/or third year based on the student's cumulative grade point average.

Recognizing these indicators of success are not perfect, Drake Law School also provides scholarship assistance to returning students who outperform these predictors. Students who do not receive a scholarship in the first year will earn scholarship funding for the second and/or third year if they meet specified GPA requirements after the fall semester(s).

Drake Law School also offers a number of unconditional scholarships each year to entering students. These scholarships are awarded in amounts up to full tuition and are renewed for all three years of law school provided the student enrolls full-time.

Merit-Based Endowed Scholarships

These scholarships are awarded to entering and returning students. Financial need is not a factor in determining these awards.

Lex and Scott Hawkins Endowed Scholarship
Lex Hawkins, LW'51, and Scott Hawkins, LW'81, established this scholarship to be awarded to the president of the Law School's Moot Court Board.

Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives – Electric Cooperative Pioneer Trust Fund Scholarship
This scholarship is awarded to a second- or third-year law student interested in agricultural law, with a preference given to students planning to practice in Iowa.

James P. Irish Scholarship
Established by Edwin Skinner and Donald Beattie in honor of their associate and law partner, James P. Irish, LW'31, this scholarship is awarded to law students from Southeast Polk High School or to members of the Drake Law Review board of editors.

James L. Perkins Scholarship
Established by James L. Perkins, LA'53, LW'54, this award is presented to a worthy student who has been selected for the Drake Law Review.

Henry G. and Norma A. Peterson Trust Scholarship
A gift from the Henry G. and Norma A. Peterson Charitable Trust, this scholarship is awarded annually to the six members of the national moot court teams.

Returning Student Scholarships

D.J. Fairgrave Education Trust
The D.J. Fairgrave Education Trust provides annual scholarships to second- and third-year law students. The trustees select scholarship recipients based upon financial need, character, academic record, personal achievements, future goals, and anticipated contributions to the profession.


National Scholarship Programs

Students may find additional opportunities for scholarships offered by the following non-Drake, outside organizations.

AccessLex Law School Scholarship Databank

American Association for Justice Scholarships

American Bar Association Legal Opportunity Scholarship Fund ($5,000)

American Bar Association Writing Competitions and Law School Contests

American Intellectual Property Law Education Foundation Scholarships ($10,000 and $5,000)

Donald W. Banner Diversity Scholarship ($5,000)

DRI Law Student Diversity Scholarship ($10,000)

Earl Warren Scholarship

Federal Circuit Bar Association Scholarships

Hispanic National Bar Foundation Scholarships

James B. Morris Scholarship Fund

LMJ Scholarship

Mark T. Banner Scholarship 

Marshall-Motley Scholars Program

Mexican American Legal Defense and Education Fund Scholarships ($1,000-$5,000)

National Italian American Bar Association Scholarship ($5,000)


Law students are also encouraged to pursue scholarship websites such as and for additional scholarship opportunities.

Drake ROTC Program

After graduation and passage of the bar, law students can serve in the National Guard or Army Reserve, where they are able to pursue a civilian legal career and serve the United States at the same time—one weekend a month.

All scholarships provide:

  • 100% tuition and fees paid
  • Books: $1,200 per year ($600/semester)
  • Monthly tax-free stipend during the school year ($300-$500/month)

Learn more about the Drake ROTC Program.

For information about Drake Law School's scholarship retention, see the Law School's ABA Required Disclosures.

Questions? Contact the Office of Admission and Financial Aid at 515-271-2782 or

Law School Calendar 
Law School News