Skip Sub Menu

Meet our Faculty


"As faculty in the LEAD program, our focus is to help our students develop their leadership skills, dispositions, and strategies so they can make a positive impact in the world." -Dr. Buckmiller, LEAD Director

LEAD faculty come from all walks of life but have a few things in common: Every single LEAD faculty member has specialized knowledge and experience as  well as an advanced degree in Leadership.

One of the unique characteristics of our program is that it is interdisciplinary in nature, meaning both our students and our faculty come from diverse academic backgrounds and programs, much like the way leadership is practiced “in the real world.” Together, we bring leadership to life and benefit from our diverse backgrounds and perspectives.

 

LEAD Core Faculty

Lead Director, Tom Buckmiller

Dr. Tom Buckmiller
Director, LEAD Concentration

515-271-4989 
thomas.buckmiller@drake.edu

Dr. Jenny Tran Johnson
Registrar

515-271-3094 
jennifer.tran@drake.edu

Dr. Melissa Sturm-Smith
Associate Provost for Academic Excellence and Student Success

515-271-3761 
melissa.sturm-smith@drake.edu

 

Collaborating Faculty

Dalton Moberly, M.S.
Assistant Director of Student-Athlete Success Services

515-271-3810 
dalton.moberly@drake.edu

 

John Amato
Director, Development

515-271-2849
515-480-6898
john.amato@drake.edu

Tim Tesar, Ph.D. 
Advancement Officer
he/him/his

515-271-2132
tim.tesar@drake.edu

Dr. Karen Leroux
Associate Professor of History
she/her/hers

515-271-2709
karen.leroux@drake.edu

Kim Garin, PharmD, CHC, BCHHP
Adjunct Instructor, Leadership
she/her/hers

515-271-4028
kim.garin@drake.edu

Mary Lou Warner, M.B.A.
Adjunct Instructor, Leadership
she/her/hers

marylou.warner@drake.edu

Matt Johnson, M.P.A.
Adjunct Instructor

515-330-5448
matt.johnson@drake.edu

Stephanie Sledge, M.S.
Associate Athletic Director
she/her/hers

515-271-2074
stephanie.viola@drake.edu

Tara Mattiussi, M.S.
Adjunct Instructor, Leadership

tara.mattiussi@drake.edu

Dr. Thomas Westbrook
Professor Emeritus

thomas.westbrook@drake.edu