Open JMC Major

Skip Sub Menu

Awards and Honors

Here are just a few of the awards won by Drake SJMC students:

  • American Advertising Federation of Des Moines gold and silver ADDY and student Best of Show
  • Fullbright post-graduate fellowships
  • Nationally competitive Bailey Lauerman and Olson advertising internships
  • Broadcast Education Association Best of Festival for multimedia
  • Associated Collegiate Press Pacemaker awards
  • Student Emmy, Telly, and Communicator awards for sports documentaries, webcasts, and promotional videos
  • National Association of Broadcasters production anchor and War on the Floor team winner
  • Society of Professional Journalists regional and national Mark of Excellence awards, including best magazine and national photography awards
  • Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication top digital and print awards, including general excellence and best online magazine
  • Student Society for News Design Art Directors Association of Iowa awards
  • Competitive national American Society of Magazine Editors internships
  • Iowa Broadcast News Association awards for radio and television production and reporting, including top newscast and in-depth series
  • Iowa College Media Association awards for writing and photography, including newspaper of the year
  • PRIME Awards from the Central Iowa Public Relations Society of America
  • PR News student of the year and PR Week student of the year finalist
  • Honorable mention in the national Bateman case study competition
  • International Association of Business Communicators Bronze Quill

To see a full list of awards by specialty/major, visit our SJMC Student Awards page.