Skip Sub Menu


These are some of the awards and scholarships that are awarded yearly that provide additional recognition or financial aid for SJMC students. The SJMC dean’s office also employs students to assist with electronic media checkout, office duties, faculty research and projects, and social media work. See SJMC administrative assistant Denise Ganpat in Meredith Hall 118 or dean’s assistant Mallory Quinn in Mer. 119 for more information about available positions and how to apply.


Scholarships for Entering First-Year Students

To apply for all three scholarships see: The application deadline is Feb. 1.

Sheila A. Wolfe Scholarship
Awarded to an entering News student who is interested in print or digital news journalism and maintains a grade-point average of 3.5.

Katharine Futch Scholarship
A bequest from Drake alumna Katharine Farber Futch, class of 1940, provides funds to recognize outstanding achievement and potential. This renewable scholarship is awarded to an entering first-year SJMC student in any major who demonstrates professionalism, intelligence and integrity. Futch scholars must maintain a 3.25 GPA.

Robert D. Woodward Endowed Scholarship
The Woodward scholarship is awarded to an entering SJMC student who maintains a GPA of 3.25 and remains a News major. This scholarship honors SJMC professor emeritus Robert D. Woodward.


Scholarships for Continuing SJMC Students

Once students are admitted to SJMC, they can apply for many discipline-related scholarships and awards. Scholarship applications are available outside the dean’s office, Meredith Hall 118, and are due early in the spring semester. Winners are announced at the annual student recognition reception in the spring.

Robert Bliss Top Scholar Award
For scholarship and academic achievement, this honor is presented each year to the graduating senior with the highest overall grade point average. The honorees’ names are inscribed on a plaque to be displayed in Meredith Hall.

Frank Miller Scholarship
In honor of Des Moines Register Pulitzer-prize winning editorial cartoonist. Awarded to a journalism student with a successful contribution in the area of web-based graphic design. A Frank Miller Award also provides aid for student assistantships.

Joe Patrick Green Eyeshade Award
This cash award, which honors Joe R. Patrick’s dedication to copy-editing and his service to SJMC as teacher and assistant dean, recognizes outstanding copy editors, nitpickers in the Patrick tradition.

Karyl Van Scholarship
The recipient of this scholarship will work in the E.T. Meredith Center for Magazine Studies. Named after Karyl Van, who devoted his working life to magazine publishing.

Meredith Corporation Scholarships
The Meredith Corporation awards generous scholarships for magazine majors.

Robert D. Woodward Public Affairs Reporting Award
This annual cash award recognizes outstanding student journalism work.

Fausch Gift Awards
Cash awards to public relations students for outstanding contributions to research for the senior capstone client. Alumnus David Fausch and his wife, Doris, are the contributors along with Procter & Gamble.

Josephine Hosman Award
Created by Josephine and Richard Hosman to provide financial support to a student who is editor of the Drake Digital News or other online publication sponsored by SJMC.

John Lytle Scholarship
Awarded to a News major interested in pursuing a career in broadcast news. This scholarship honors retired broadcast teacher John Lytle, a Levitt Distinguished Professor.

Harrison Harding Scholarship
Awarded to the Times-Delphic editor-in-chief. Harrison Harding was a 1938 graduate majoring in news.

94.1 Top Dog Award
Recognizes an outstanding digital media student for work on the campus radio station. The Top Dog’s name is inscribed on a plaque displayed in Meredith Hall.

Richard Tapscott News Reporting Award
This cash award recognizes outstanding journalism work in any medium.

Tom Norquist Memorial Scholarship
Established by the family and friends of 1979 graduate Tom Norquist.

Erik Isgrig Advertising Scholarship
Honors the memory of a distinguished member of the advertising faculty in the 1960s.

Ted Sell Memorial Scholarship
Recognizes an outstanding print or broadcast student.

Clifton Scholarship
Honors the memory of Cy Clifton, a political reporter for the Des Moines Register.

Patricia Prijatel Storyteller Award
Recognizes a magazine student whose work informs and inspires.

Jim Duncan Memorial Scholarship
Honors the memory of the famed broadcast professor known as the “Voice of the Drake Relays.”

Public Relations Society of America Cash Award
Presented to the student selected as showing greatest promise for a successful career in public relations.

Beth Walters Peterson Award
An annual prize given to a Drake student for outstanding accomplishment in copywriting.