Skip Sub Menu

National Advisory Council

The Council members meet twice a year to provide advice and support to keep SJMC on pace with the communications industry.

Mac Brand, JO’76
Founding Partner
Bellwether Food Group, Inc., Dallas

Megan Bannister, JO’13
Social Media Manager
Des Moines Art Center

Brittany Hopkins Bungert, JO’07
Director of Communications
Iowa Automobile Dealers Association

Lee Carey, J’77
Media & Communications Specialist
Carey & Company, Minneapolis

Claire Celsi, friend
Director of Public Relations
Spindustry Digital, Des Moines

John Garcia JO’86
Reporter, WLS-TV, Chicago

Lynn Hicks , JO’91
Opinion Editor
Des Moines Register, Des Moines

Nicole Jobst Smith, JO’08
Assistant Director, Public Relations
Drake University, Des Moines

Louie Laurent, J’76
Des Moines

David M. Lubbers, J’86
Producer, ESPN
Des Moines

Lydia Nevins, JO’11
Marketing Specialist
Delta Dental, Des Moines

Susan Patterson Plank, Friend, MPA’16
Executive Director
Iowa Newspaper Association, Des Moines

Katie Popp, JO’05
Account Manager
Strategic America, Des Moines

Amy Schmelzer, JO’96
Operations Manager
KCCI-TV, Des Moines

Eduardo Tamez Zamarripa, JO’12
Multimedia Communications Specialist
Musco Lighting, Oskaloosa

Samantha Thorpe, JO’95
Senior Editor, Meredith Corp.
Des Moines

Bruce Thorsen, JO’70
President, Mission Health Foundation (retired)
Des Moines

Tyler Tran, JO’11
Senior UX Designer
Berkley Technology Services, Des Moines

Kevin Waetke, JO’86
Vice President, Strategic Communications
National Pork Board, Des Moines

Grace Wenzel, JO’15
Social Media Strategist
Happy Medium, Des Moines

Tami Weincek, JO’84
Public Information Officer
Iowa Dept. of Administrative Services
Des Moines