Skip to Content

The Martin Bucksbaum Lectureship Series


About the Lectureship

Through a gift to Drake nearly 30 years ago, Martin and Melva Bucksbaum launched their vision for sparking community discussion about the most poignant issues of our time. Over the years, their lectureship series has included world-renowned speakers, Maya Angelou, Earvin ‘Magic’ Johnson, Bob Woodward, and many other inspiring voices. Thanks to an additional gift from Melva Bucksbaum and Mary Bucksbaum, the well-established lecture series expanded to launch the Inaugural Bucksbaum Lectureship in Business in 2023.

Learn More

browse previous lectures

two unique lectureships

Choose an Event to Learn More

“These lectures have given me a chance to listen to professionals within and outside of my field of interest.”

“I have been fortunate enough to attend the Drake Bucksbaum lectures with my family when I was a kid, and now, as a college student, I get to enjoy it with my friends. The Martin Bucksbaum Lectureship Series offers a unique opportunity to hear diverse perspectives from experts that we may not have a chance to hear from otherwise. This experience has been invaluable for me and many others who have attended.”

—Keira Coady, International Relations/Public Relations major, Chinese minor | Class of 2025

Lectureship Committee

Learn more about the committee that oversees the Martin Bucksbaum Lectureship Series.  

Learn More

Maps & Directions

Need help finding your way to the event? Navigate with ease by using our detailed maps and directions.

Maps & Directions


Submit general feedback, suggest lecture topics, suggest future speakers, or subscribe to email updates about future events.

Submit Feedback

Contact Us

Have a question or concern about an upcoming Bucksbaum Lecture?

Contact Us

Lecture Archive

Curious to learn more about our past speakers and topics? Explore our collection of past lectures to learn more.

Learn More