Skip Sub Menu

Faculty Senate

According to Drake University’s Academic Charter, the Faculty Senate is the chief legislative body within the University.

It has the following powers:

  1. To establish educational policy affecting the University as a whole.
  2. To enact academic regulations of uniform application. The Faculty Senate shall exercise restraint not to intrude into the internal regulation of the Colleges of the University.
  3. To recommend special actions to the President and to the Board of Trustees.
  4. To establish policies concerning extracurricular activities supported by the University, in full consultation with the Student Senate.
  5. To establish standing and ad hoc committees.
  6. To establish rules for the Senate; Robert’s Rules of Order Newly Revised shall govern the proceedings of the Senate unless otherwise provided.

Quick Links

Agendas & Meeting Information

Membership Information

Senate Committees

Senate Rules & Regulations

Academic Calendars


Matthew Zwier, Associate Professor of Chemistry
Faculty Senate President 

Note: All full Faculty Senate meetings will be located in Cowles Library, Room 201.

See Map Location