Skip Sub Menu

Phi Alpha Theta

Message from the President

Hello, fellow history enthusiasts,

As President of Alpha Theta Omega, I would like to welcome you to our organization and website. We are Drake's chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the national honorary society for history. Our mission is to bring students with a passion for history together by providing a social community and opportunities for professional development.

Members of Phi Alpha Theta are a part of a community of history students who can offer advice on classes, projects, etc. and have access to a wide range of internship opportunities in history and related fields. Chapter and national membership also adds unique value to a resume.

Membership is NOT limited to History majors, and we are excited to offer two membership opportunities: National and Associate.

With the National membership option, you become a recognized member of Phi Alpha Theta and are able to receive all the benefits it provides. This includes opportunities to publish papers, apply for scholarships and attend conferences. Undergraduate members are required to have a 3.1 GPA in at least 12 credits of history, a 3.0 GPA overall and be in good standing with the university.

Associate membership grants you membership in our Alpha Theta Omega chapter and is intended to provide a community for students interested in history but have yet to meet the 12 credits of history courses. Requirements for Associate membership are 3 credits of history courses, completion of one semester at Drake University and, of course, an interest in history.

If you are interested in learning more, feel free to reach out to me at the email listed below. If you would like to fill out an application, I can email you a copy or you can pick one up from the folder on our bulletin board located on the second floor of Meredith Hall outside room 236.

We would love to answer any questions, so please don't hesitate to reach out!

Mallory McQueen


National Organization

Established in 1921 at the University of Arkansas, Phi Alpha Theta is the national honors society for students of history. Dedicated to promoting the study of history, Phi Alpha Theta sponsors conferences, offers scholarship opportunities and publishes a quarterly journal. In 1998 Alpha Theta Omega, Drake University’s active local chapter, became one of the organization’s now 970 chapters.

According to Phi Alpha Theta’s main website:
“We are a professional society whose mission is to promote the study of History through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among Historians. We seek to bring students, teachers and writers of History together for intellectual and social exchanges, which promote and assist Historical research and publication by our members in a variety of ways.”

A&S News