Skip Sub Menu

Madelyn M. Levitt Distinguished Community Service Award

Madelyn M. Levitt established the Distinguished Community Service Award to recognize the outstanding contributions of Drake faculty and staff to the Drake community. Recipients are chosen on the following criteria:

  • A demonstrated personal commitment to volunteerism and community service
  • An outstanding record of leadership or substantial involvement in community projects, services and activities contributing to the quality of life in our region, state and/or the nation
  • Professional and personal values and behavior that typify the ideals of “giving back to others” and “making a difference in the lives of others”

The nominee must be a current faculty or staff member with at least five years of service at Drake.

To nominate a colleague, submit a letter of nomination to Human Resources. Nomination letters may be sent through campus mail or electronically to The letter should detail specific examples of how the nominee exemplifies each of the applicable criteria. Additional letters of support are not necessary. For additional information, including nomination due dates, please contact Linda Feiden at

The following individuals have been recognized as recipients of the Madelyn M. Levitt Distinguished Community Service Award:

 Madelyn M. Levitt Distinguished Community Service Award Recipients

 2001 Dolph Pulliam, Director, Promotion and Marketing for Athletics
2002Doug Hillman, Aliber Distinguished Professor of Accounting
2003Marie Fisher, Administrative Assistant, Chemistry and Physics
2004Donald Adams, Special Counsel for Institutional Advancement
2005June Johnson, Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice and
Director, Faculty and Site Development
2006Melissa Weresh, Professor of Law                                               
2007Dee Wright, Director, Counseling Center
2008Diana Reed, Associate Professor of Management and International Business
2009Deneen Dygert, Associate Director, Admissions
2010David McCord, Professor of Law
2011Anisa Fornoff, Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice
2012Carole Tillotson, Assicate Director, Career Development Law School
2013No Awards Presented. Moved Awards from Fall to Spring. 
2014Maria Valdovinos, Associate Professor of Psychology
2015Matt Bruinekool, Assistant Professor of Counseling Education
2016Matthew Dore, Richard M. and Anita Calkins Distinguished Professor of Law
2017Jennie Baranczyk, Head Women's Basketball Coach
2018Carolyn Crowe, Visiting Assistant Professor of Journalism/Internship Coordinator
2019Nancy Reincke, Associate Professor of English
2020Ellen Yee, Professor of Law
2021Erik Maki, Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice
University News