Skip Sub Menu








The Drake Army ROTC program develops and assesses its leaders through a series of 16 leadership dimensions which are divided up into 3 categories:


  • Military Bearing
  • Physically Fit
  • Confident
  • Resilient

Intellectual Capacity:

  • Mental Agility
  • Innovation
  • Interpersonal Tact
  • Domain Knowledge


  • Leads Others
  • Leads by Example
  • Extends Influence beyond the Chain of Command
  • Communicates
  • Creates Positive Environment
  • Prepares Self
  • Develops Others
  • Gets Results

The leadership skills ROTC strives to teach are reinforced in summer training sessions, which give cadets the opportunity to learn more specialized skills and to improve those skills which already have a foundation in Drake's ROTC program.

Upon graduation, cadets will be commissioned into the United States Army, in one of a great number of different branches of service.  This allows students to enter a specific field, in anything from law to veterinary medicine, as well as the more traditional military branches such as infantry and artillery.

University Calendar 
University News