Skip Sub Menu

Global Citizenship Award for Faculty and Staff

Nominations are invited from Drake faculty and staff for the annual Global Citizenship Award recognizing outstanding contributions to global engagement and internationalization of the campus and curriculum on the part of faculty or staff.

The selected awardee will receive a plaque and a stipend of up to $3,000. A screening committee, appointed by the Provost, reviews all nominations and makes recommendations to the Provost.


A letter of nomination should be submitted recommending an individual for the award and explaining the context and manner in which the nominator has come to know the faculty or staff member:

Pursuant to the University’s mission to prepare students for “responsible global citizenship,” this letter must also explain how the nominee has made outstanding contributions toward at least one of the following priority areas:

  • High impact global learning
  • A globally-engaged campus
  • Access to global opportunities
  • Enhanced global and intercultural competency (students)
  • Increased global and intercultural capacity (faculty and staff)

The nominee must be a faculty or staff members in their fourth year of service at the University, at minimum. The nominee cannot have won this award within the past five years. Faculty and staff members who work directly for Global Engagement are ineligible.

Nominees who indicate a willingness to be considered will be invited to submit a CV and a statement discussing their contributions to the above goals. One or two additional letters of support from faculty, staff or students will be accepted; this is optional.

Any individual who was nominated for the award in the preceding year may be re-nominated if the nominator resubmits a letter offering the individual for consideration this year. A record of previous nominees is maintained for two years. If a faculty or staff member is re-nominated, the nominator will be invited to review the file from the previous year to ensure that the nomination details are current.

The window to submit nominations for this academic year is November 3, 2023, through February 11, 2024. Nomination letters should be submitted via this online form.

Questions may be directed to Annique Kiel, Executive Director for Global Engagement and International Programs.


2023 Award Winner

Congratulations to Dr. Jeffrey Kappen, associate professor of international business in the Zimpleman College of Business, on winning the 2023 Global Citizenship Award!



Past Award Winners

2022: Deb Bishop, College of Business and Public Administration

2021: Sally Haack, College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences

2019: Jody Swilky, College of Arts and Sciences

2018: Pramod Mahajan, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

2017: Professor Timothy Knepper, College of Arts and Sciences

2016: Professor John P. Rovers, College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences

2015: Professor Ellen Yee, School of Law