Skip Sub Menu

Jerry Karbeling Leadership Award

The Jerry Karbeling Leadership Award was created in honor of outstanding alumnus Jerry Karbeling, PH'74, who passed away in 2005. The Award recognizes a pharmacy student who has shown leadership in professional education, association work, community service, and pharmacy practice. The class of '74 established the Karbeling Memorial Leadership Fund which supports the annual award for students who demonstrate Karbeling's values and actions including professional involvement, commitment to practice, and political advocacy.

About Jerry Karbeling:

Jerome "Jerry" Darryl Karbeling received his B.S. from Drake University College of Pharmacy in 1974. Jerry was Senior Vice President for Public Affairs and Corporate Development for the Iowa Pharmacists Association and practiced as a community pharmacist and owner of Big Creek Pharmacy in Polk City, Iowa since 1977. He was a past president of the Iowa Pharmacists Association and the Iowa Pharmacy Foundation. He served as the Chair of the American Pharmaceutical Association Political Action Committee and in 1997 received the APhA Good Government Pharmacist of the Year Award. Jerry was an Adjunct Associate Professor of Pharmacy for Drake University. He served as chair of the National Advisory Board to the Drake College of Pharmacy and also served as an adjunct faculty member for the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy. Jerry chaired and served on numerous APhA Policy and special committees and was a long time House of Delegates participant. He held a membership on the board of the Iowa Rural Health Association and was serving his second term on the Polk City City Council. Jerry was the recipient of the Bowl of Hygeia, Drake University College of Pharmacy Alumni Achievement Award, and numerous community and civic leadership awards. Jerry had a special talent for inspiring others to become involved.

If you are interested in contributing to the Jerry Karbeling Leadership Award Fund, please follow one of these steps:

1)  Donate Online with a one time gift or an installment pledge by visiting Complete the form, selecting ‘Other’ as the Designation and putting 'Jerry Karbeling Leadership Award Fund' in the ‘Other’ box. Select ‘Add to Cart’ and complete the payment information.

2)  Mail your donation to the Drake College of Pharmacy & Health Sciences, 2507 University Ave., Des Moines, Iowa 50311. Include a note indicating that your gift is for the Jerry Karbeling Leadership Award Fund.

Past Recipients:

CPHS Calendar