Skip Sub Menu

Richard Morrow Transformational Leadership Award

In recognition of his impact on the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences and thousands of our alumni, an award fund was created to honor Richard Morrow, GR’83, Ellis and Nelle Levitt Professor Emeritus of Pharmacology, who served as a faculty member from 1972 – 2010. The endowment annually supports one student and one faculty member whose transformative work has gone above and beyond. The Richard Morrow Transformational Leadership Award is presented annually at Health Professions Day. 

Transformational leaders focus on team-building, motivation and collaboration with colleagues to accomplish change for the better. They identify a needed change, create a vision to guide the change through inspiration, and execute the change through collaboration. They also emphasize one or more of the Drake CPHS Core Values: Collaboration, Collegiality, Entrepreneurial Leadership, Innovation, Professionalism, Student/Learner-Centered.

About Richard Morrow

Richard Morrow worked in a variety of administrative roles, including chair of the division of pharmacy sciences, and assistant, interim, and associate deans of the CPHS. Morrow’s impact on the University and College is noteworthy as he chaired and served on a variety of committees and task forces at the university level, including Faculty Senate President. He was instrumental in the success of the college’s dual PharmD/MBA program and served as liaison to the Iowa Methodist School of Nursing. His impact on students went beyond the classroom as he was a faculty advisor to a number of student groups and honor societies, and a mentor to countless students. Alumni and colleagues today still credit Morrow for their success and describe him as a teacher who cared deeply about his students.

If you are also interested in a contribution to the Morrow Transformational Leadership Fund, please follow these steps:

1)  Visit
2)  Click on the donate to Drake button to the right.
3)  Complete the form, clicking on ‘Other’ for the Designation.  Type “Morrow Fund” in the ‘Other’ dialog box.
 Complete the remainder of the form. If you, or your spouse, work for an organization that has a matching gift program, you can double your support!


Richard Morrow Transformational Leadership Faculty Award Recipients

Faculty Nora Stelter Faculty Erik Maki
John Rovers
Nora Stelter
Erik Maki
Health sciences faculty Cassity Guiterrez  OTD faculty Yolanda Griffiths  
Cassity Guiterrez
Yolanda Griffiths
Geoff Wall

Previous Student Recipients

2022-2023 – Rachel Turin

2021-2022 –  Fiona Roehrs

2020-2021 –  Carissa Popp

2019-2020 –  Eddie Mueller

2018-2019 –  Alex Maciejewski

2017-2018 – Michelle Mages


CPHS Calendar