Skip Sub Menu

Brian Benson

2nd Term: 7/1/2019 - 6/30/2022

Executive Director of Pharmacy
UnityPoint Health
Des Moines, IA 50309

BS Pharmacy, 1996, Drake University
PharmD, 2006, University of Kansas


Dr. Benson is a former recipient of the Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award in 2000, Health-System Pharmacist of the Year award for Iowa, 2010, and received the Drake College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences 2011 Alumni Achievement Award. Most recently he was granted fellowship status in 2015 with the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists. In 1998, Brian attended the Young Pharmacists Leadership Conference. Brian has worked for UnityPoint – Des Moines for 24 years. He serves on many hospital-based committees and has held many offices with local, state and national organizations – the Central Iowa Pharmacists Association, Iowa Pharmacy Association and American Society of Health-System Pharmacists – past chair of the Section of Inpatient Care Practitioners.  Brian also serves on the Iowa Healthcare Collaborative/Iowa Department of Public Health Medication Effectiveness and Safety task force. Brian is also a former Adjunct Professor at Drake University. He has co-chaired the Patient Safety task force – IPA and Iowa Board of Pharmacy joint task force, and participated on the review committee for pharmacist in charge rules review for Iowa. He has past experience in retail pharmacy and infusion pharmacy. 

Click here to return to National Advisory Council


CPHS Calendar